## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

H.B. 283 Mar 18, 2015 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

H

1 2

3

4

5 6

7

8

9 10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17 18

## HOUSE DRH40140-LL-76B\* (02/09)

Short Title: Supreme Court Sessions in Morganton. (Public)

Sponsors: Representatives Bishop and Blackwell (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW GOVERNING SESSIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT TO AUTHORIZE SESSIONS TO BE HELD IN MORGANTON.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-10(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) The Supreme Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and six associate justices, elected by the qualified voters of the State for terms of eight years. Before entering upon the duties of his office, each justice shall take an oath of office. Four justices shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of the business of the court. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, sessions of the court shall be held in the city of Raleigh, and scheduled by rule of court so as to discharge expeditiously the court's business. The court may by rule hold sessions not more than twice annually in the Old Chowan County Courthouse (1767) in the Town of Edenton, which is a State-owned court facility that is designated as a National Historic Landmark by the United States Department of the Interior. The court may by rule hold sessions not more than twice annually in the City of Morganton; unless a more suitable site is identified by the court, the court shall meet in the Old Burke County Courthouse, the location of summer sessions of the Supreme Court from 1847-1862."

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

