GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2013**

FILED SENATE May 14, 2014 **S.B. 741** PRINCIPAL CLERK

 \mathbf{S}

SENATE DRS35512-MQ-2 (04/03)

Sponsors: Senator Barefoot (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:	
1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
2 AN ACT TO ALLOW FRANKLIN COUNTY TO NOT ACCEPT THE REGISTRAT	TION OF
3 A DEED TRANSFERRING REAL PROPERTY WHEN TAXES ARE DELINQU	ENT.
4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
5 SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten:	
6 "§ 161-31. Tax certification.	
7 (a) Tax Certification. – The board of commissioners of a county may, by re	
8 require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for re-	
9 unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county	
valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lie	
11 property described in the deed. The county commissioners may describe the	form the
12 certification must take in its resolution.	
13 (a1) Exception to Tax Certification. – If a board of county commissioners	
resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the resolution, th	_
of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for registration u	
supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deed: "This ir	
prepared by:, a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, t	
by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceed	
19 (b) Applicability. – This section applies only to Alamance, Alexander, Anson,	
20 Bertie, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell,	,
Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax,	
Edgecombe, Forsyth, <u>Franklin</u> , Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir,	
24 Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Page 1987.	,
25 Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, S	1
26 Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington,	
Wilson, Yadkin, and Yancey Counties."	wayne,
28 SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.	

