GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

H 2

HOUSE BILL 296 Committee Substitute Favorable 3/31/11

Short Title: S	ampson-Delinquent Taxpayers.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		
	March 10, 2011	
SPECIAL UDELINQUE REQUIRE RECORDIN The General Ass	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED UTHORIZE SAMPSON COUNTY TO PROHIBIT SE OR CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT, OR A BU NT TAXPAYER, AND TO AUTHORIZE SA THE PAYMENT OF DELINQUENT PROPE G DEEDS CONVEYING PROPERTY. sembly of North Carolina enacts: TION 1.(a) G.S. 153A-340 is amended by adding a Grant of power.	JILDING PERMIT, TO A AMPSON COUNTY TO RTY TAXES BEFORE
permit may not property taxes, ordinance may p	unty may by ordinance provide that a special use be issued under subsection (c1) of this section to a pedetermined under G.S. 105-360, on property own provide that a special use permit or conditional use g the assessment or collection of property taxes.	erson who owes delinquent ned by the person. Such
	TION 1.(b) This section applies to Sampson County TION 2. G.S. 153A-357(c) reads as rewritten: ermits.	only.
(c) (1) (2)	A county may by ordinance provide that a permi subsection (a) of this section to a person who taxes, determined under G.S. 105-360, on prope Such ordinance may provide that a building person protesting the assessment or collection of p This subsection applies to Alexander, Alleghany Chowan, Currituck, Davie, Gates, Greene, Sampson, Stokes, Surry, Tyrrell, Wayne, and Yadl	owes delinquent property orty owned by the person. ermit may be issued to a property taxes. , Anson, Bertie, Catawba, Lenoir, Lincoln, Iredell,
SEC" \$ 161-31. Tax	TION 3. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:	an counces only.
Burke, Cabarrus Currituck, Dare	icability. – This section applies only to Alexander, camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, lle, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson	Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates,



Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell,

- 1 Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt,
- 2 Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Stanly, Surry, Swain,
- 3 Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties."
- 4 **SECTION 4.** This act is effective when it becomes law.