## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

Н

Simple Resolution Adopted

## HOUSE RESOLUTION 1143 Adopted 6/11/12

Sponsors:	Representatives Gill, Hall, Ross, and Jackson (Primary Sponsors).
	For a complete list of Sponsors, see Bill Information on the NCGA Web Site.
Referred to:	Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House.

May 25, 2012

A HOUSE RESOLUTION HONORING THE SHAW UNIVERSITY WOMEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2012 NATIONAL COLLEGIATE ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION DIVISION II CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, on March 23, 2012, the Shaw University women's basketball team won the 2012 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II championship by defeating Ashland University by a score of 88-82; and

Whereas, this championship gives Shaw University its first Division II NCAA title for the women's basketball program; and

Whereas, the Lady Bears have achieved an outstanding record during their NCAA tournament history, which includes nine CIAA championships and two Final Four appearances, four Elite Eight appearances, and five Sweet 16 appearances; and

Whereas, the Lady Bears won the 2012 Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) tournament championship, increasing the program's record to nine CIAA tournament titles, the most titles of any CIAA member; and

Whereas, the Lady Bears were the CIAA regular season champions, achieving a conference record of 15-1; and

Whereas, the Lady Bears triumphed on their home court this season by going undefeated; and

Whereas, the Lady Bears finished the 2011-2012 season with a record of 29-6 and were ranked No. 1 by the USA Today/ESPN Top 25 women's basketball coaches' poll; and

Whereas, much of the Lady Bears' success can be attributed to the leadership of head coach, Jacques Curtis, a Shaw Hall of Fame coach, who during his 12 seasons at Shaw has led his teams to a record of 264-113; and

Whereas, Coach Curtis maintains the record for the most CIAA championships by a member school, capturing his 250th NCAA win during the 2012 season; and

Whereas, many individual team members were recognized for their efforts during the year and throughout their college careers, including Aslea Williams who was named to the All-CIAA team, CIAA tournament MVP, and Atlantic Region MVP; Kyria Buford who was named to the All-CIAA team, CIAA Defensive Player of the Year, the Atlantic Region all-tournament team, and the NCAA Elite Eight all-tournament team; and Sequoyah Griffin who was named to the All-CIAA team and NCAA Elite Eight all-tournament teams; and

Whereas, each year Shaw University is recognized as one of the nation's top Division II academic institutions, and its basketball program continues to have one of the highest graduation rates for its athletes; and



4 5 6

7

8

1 2

3

9 10

11 12 13

14 15 16

18 19 20

17

22 23

21

25 26

27

24

28 29 30

31 32

33

34

J<del>4</del>

Whereas, the success of the women's basketball team is a fitting testimonial and memorial to the late Dr. James E. Lytle, a 1925 graduate of Shaw University who served in many capacities to the University, including baseball coach, athletics director, and professor of health and physical education for almost 50 years; and

Whereas, Dr. Lytle was both a respected athlete during his time at Shaw University as an undergraduate and a dedicated "Bear" throughout his career; and

Whereas, Shaw University's extraordinary accomplishments bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina and deserve recognition by the State; Now, therefore, Be it resolved by the House of Representatives:

 **SECTION 1.** The House of Representatives expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to Shaw University's women's basketball team for winning the 2012 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II championship.

**SECTION 2.** The House of Representatives especially recognizes the achievements of team members Shemieka Brown, Kyria Buford, Isayra Diaz, Kennay Fleming, Sequoyah Griffin, Crystal Harris, Allyssa Lane, Jashaye Mangum, Brittany Ransom, Brittney Spencer, Enonge Stovall, Victoria Tanner, Aslea Williams, Head Coach Jacques Curtis, Associate Head Coach Carl Hatchell, Assistant Coach Ashante Timoll, Assistant Coach Jonas Richard, and Athletic Trainer Sean Burton.

**SECTION 3.** The House of Representatives honors the memory of Dr. James E. Lytle and extends its appreciation for his contributions to Shaw University.

**SECTION 4.** The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to Shaw University President Dorothy Cowser Yancy, Director of Athletics Alfonza Carter, the family of Dr. James E. Lytle, and all of the individuals honored in this resolution.

**SECTION 5.** This resolution is effective upon adoption.

Page 2 H1143 [Adopted]