GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

Η

HOUSE DRH50855-TFz-2A* (04/13)

Short Title:	Environmental Technical Corrections 2010.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Representatives Harrison, Gibson, Tarleton, and Underhill (Primary SI	oonsors).
Referred to:		

1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO MAKE (CLARIFYING, CONFORMING, AND TECHNICAL AMENDMENTS
3	TO VARIOUS L	AWS RELATED TO THE ENVIRONMENT, ENERGY, AND
4	NATURAL RESC	OURCES, AS RECOMMENDED BY THE ENVIRONMENTAL
5	REVIEW COMMIS	SSION.
6	The General Assembly	of North Carolina enacts:
7	SECTION	1. G.S. 114-4.2D reads as rewritten:
8	"§ 114-4.2D. Employ	ment of attorney for Energy Policy Council and Energy Efficiency
9	Program of	the Department of Administration Commerce.
10	The Attorney Gener	cal shall assign an attorney on his staff to work full time with the Energy
11	Policy Council and	Energy Efficiency Program of the Department of Administration
12		ney shall be subject to all provisions of Chapter 126 of the General
13		he State Personnel System. Such attorney shall also perform such
14		y be assigned to him by the Attorney General."
15	SECTION	2. The catch line of Article 19 of Chapter 120 of the General Statutes
16	reads as rewritten:	
17		"Article 19.
18		on Agriculture and Forestry Awareness Study Commission."
19		3. G.S. 120-150 reads as rewritten:
20		appointment of members.
21		Agriculture and Forestry Awareness Study Commission. Members of
22		be citizens of North Carolina who are interested in the vitality of the
23		sectors of the State's economy. Members shall be as follows:
24		e appointed by the Governor;Governor.
25		e appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate; Senate.
26		e appointed by the Speaker of the House;House.
27		chairman chair of the House Agriculture Committee;Committee.
28		chairman chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee; Committee on
29		culture, Environment, and Natural Resources.
30		Commissioner of Agriculture or the Commissioner's designee; designee.
31		ember of the Board of Agriculture designated by the chairman chair of
32		Board of Agriculture; Agriculture.
33		President of the North Carolina Farm Bureau Federation, Inc., or the
34	Presi	dent's designee;<u>designee.</u>



D

	General A	ssemb	ly of North Carolina	Session 2009
1 2		(9)	The <u>Master President</u> of the North Carolina State Grange President's designee; designee.	e or the Master's
- 3 4		(10)	The Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources of designee; and designee.	or the Secretary's
5 6		(11)	The President of the North Carolina Forestry Associat	ion, Inc., or the
7	Memb	ers shal	President's designee. I be appointed for two-year terms beginning October 1 of ea	ch odd-numbered
8			f the House Agriculture Committee and the Chair of the Sena	
9	Agricultur	e, Envi	ronment, and Natural Resources shall serve as cochairs. The	he cochairmen of
10			shall be the chairmen of the Senate and House Agricul	ture Committees
11	respective	•		
12	"(1)		ION 4. G.S. 130A-309.10(1) reads as rewritten:	
13	"(l)	-	shells that are delivered to a landfill shall be stored at the la	
14	•		hey are removed for recycling. If oyster shells that are store	
15 16			recycling within 90 days of delivery to the landfill, then, (12) of subsection (f) of this section, the system shalls may	_
10 17	the landfil		(13) of subsection (f) of this section, the oyster shells may	be disposed of in
17			ION 5 C S 120 A 200 12(b) reads as rewritten:	
18 19	"(b)		ION 5. G.S. 130A-309.12(b) reads as rewritten: olid Waste Management Trust Fund shall consist of the follow	ving
19 20	(0)	(1)	Funds appropriated by the General Assembly.	wing.
20 21		(1) (2)	Contributions and grants from public or private sources.	
21		(2) (3)	Five percent (5%)Eight percent (8%) of the proceeds	of the scrap tire
22		(\mathbf{J})	disposal tax imposed under Article 5B of Chapter 105	
23 24			Statutes.	of the General
2 4 25		(4)	Eight percent (8%) of the proceeds of the white goods disp	osal tax imposed
25 26		(+)	under Article 5C of Chapter 105 of the General Statutes.	Josai tax imposed
20 27		(5)	Twelve and one-half percent (12.5%) of the proceeds of	f the solid waste
28		<u>(5)</u>	disposal tax imposed under Article 5G of Chapter 105	
29			Statutes."	
30		SECT	ION 6. G.S. 130A-310.11(b) reads as rewritten:	
31	"(b)		credited to the Inactive Hazardous Sites Cleanup Fi	und pursuant to
32	G.S. 130A		shall be used only as provided in G.S. 130	_
33	G.S. 130A	-310.5((c). <u>G.S. 130A-310.6(c).</u> "	
34			ION 7. G.S. 143-355.4(b) reads as rewritten:	
35	"(b)	To be	eligible for State water infrastructure funds from the Drin	king Water State
36	Revolving	Fund	or the Drinking Water Reserve Fund-or any other grant	or loan of funds
37	allocated b	by the C	General Assembly whether the allocation of funds is to a Sta	ate agency or to a
38	nonprofit	organiz	ation for the purpose of extending waterlines or expanding	g water treatment
39	capacity,	a local	government or large community water system must dem	onstrate that the
40	system:			
41	"			
42			ION 8. G.S. 153B-2 reads as rewritten:	
43	"§ 153B-2			
44	The fo	-	definitions apply in this Article: <u>Chapter:</u>	
45		(1)	Commission. – The Mountain Resources Commission	created by this
46		$\langle \mathbf{O} \rangle$	Chapter.	0 1
47		(2)	Council. – The Mountain Area <u>Resources</u> Technical Adviso	•
48		(3)	Important mountain resources. – The natural and cultural	
49 50			mountain region of Western North Carolina, including, b	
50			State and federal public lands, wildlife habitat, farms, for	restland and rural

General Assembly of North Carolina Session 2009		
landscapes, mountain vistas, mountain streams and rivers, mountain lakes		
and historical and archeological resources.		
(4) Mountain region of Western North Carolina. – The area encompassed by the		
counties of Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke		
Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Graham, Haywood, Henderson		
Jackson, McDowell, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Surry		
Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey in the State.		
(5) Secretary. – The Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natura		
Resources."		
SECTION 9. G.S. 153B-3(d) reads as rewritten:		
"(d) Membership. – The Commission shall consist of 17 members as follows:		
 (d1) Officers, Terms The members of the Commission shall cleat a shair vice shair		
(d1) <u>Officers; Terms. –</u> The members of the Commission shall elect a chair, vice-chair and any other officers they consider necessary and shall determine the length of the term of		
office, not to exceed two years, of each officer. A majority of the Commission shall constitute a		
quorum. Each member appointed to the Commission shall be appointed to serve a four-year		
term. Any vacancy on the Commission shall be filled by the original appointing authority for		
the remainder of the unexpired term. Initial terms commence September 1, 2009."		
SECTION 10. G.S. 153B-4 reads as rewritten:		
"§ 153B-4. Mountain Area Resources Technical Advisory Council.		
(d) Members; Multiple Offices Membership on the Mountain Area Resources		
Technical Advisory Council is hereby declared to be an office that may be held concurrently		
with other elective or appointive offices (except the office of Commission member) in addition		
to the maximum number of offices permitted to be held by one person under G.S. 128-1.1.		
(e) Chairman Chair and Vice Chairman Chair. – A chairman chair and vice chairman		
chair shall be elected annually by the Council.		
(f) Compensation The members of the Advisory Council who are not State		
employees may receive per diem and necessary travel and subsistence expenses in accordance		
with the provisions of G.S. 138-5. All expenses shall be paid from funds available to the		
Commission through the Mountain Area Resources Fund, but no expenses shall be paid if the		
Mountain Area Resources Fund lacks the necessary funds."		
SECTION 11. This act is effective when it becomes law.		