GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S SENATE DRS85162-LL-176* (3/9)

Short Title: District 19A District Court Judge Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Senator Hartsell.

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDIT

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGE FOR DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 19A.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

7	
8	

3

4

5

6

9	District	Judges	County
10	1	5	Camden
11			Chowan
12			Currituck
13			Dare
14			Gates
15			Pasquotank
16			Perquimans
17	2	4	Martin
18			Beaufort
19			Tyrrell
20			Hyde
21			Washington
22	3A	5	Pitt
23	3B	6	Craven
24			Pamlico
25			Carteret
26	4	8	Sampson
27			Duplin

Ge	neral Assembly of No	Session 20	
			Jones
			Onslow
	5	8	New Hanover
			Pender
	6A	3	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
			Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
			Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
			Greene
			Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
			Franklin
	9A	2	Person
			Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	10	16	Wake
	11	9	Harnett
			Johnston
			Lee
	12	9	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
			Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	7	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	5	Orange
			Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
			Hoke
	16B	5	Robeson
	17A	5 3	Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
			Surry
	18	13	Guilford
	19A	4 <u>5</u>	Cabarrus
	19B	7	Montgomery

Page 2 S851 [Filed]

Genera	al Assembly of Nor	Session 200	
			Moore
			Randolph
	19C	5	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
			Anson
			Richmond
	20B	1	(part of Union
			see subsection (b))
	20C	2	(part of Union
			see subsection (b))
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
			Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
			Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
		·	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	9	Burke
	25		Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	18	Mecklenburg
	27A	7	Gaston
	27B	5	Cleveland
	210	3	Lincoln
	28	7	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell
	23 A	3	Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
	29 D	4	Polk
	20		Transylvania
	30	6	Cherokee
			Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain."
0071			_

S851 [Filed] Page 3

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 19A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2009. **SECTION 3.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial

Department the sum of eighty thousand eight hundred twenty dollars (\$80,820) for the 2007-2008 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred thirty-six thousand six hundred sixty dollars (\$136,660) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to fund the additional district court judgeship authorized by this act.

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 1, 2008.

Page 4 S851 [Filed]