## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

## SENATE BILL 2131 RATIFIED BILL

## AN ACT TO CHANGE THE NAME OF THE CRAVEN COUNTY REGIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY, TO CHANGE THE NAME OF THE CRAVEN COUNTY REGIONAL AIRPORT, AND TO ADD NONVOTING MEMBERS TO THE AIRPORT AUTHORITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Sections 1 and 7 of Chapter 1197 of the Session Laws of 1979, as amended by Section 1.1 of S.L. 1989-1046, is amended by deleting "Craven County Regional Airport Authority" and substituting "Coastal Carolina Regional Airport Authority."

**SECTION 2.** Chapter 1197 of the Session Laws of 1979, as amended by Chapter 838, Session Laws of 1985 and Section 1.2 of S.L. 1989-1046, is amended by deleting "Craven County Regional Airport," wherever that phrase appears, and substituting "Coastal Carolina Regional Airport."

**ŠECTION 3.** Section 2(a) of Chapter 1197 of the Session Laws of 1979, as amended by Chapter 838, Session Laws of 1985 and Section 1(a) of S.L. 2005-14, reads as rewritten:

"(a) The Airport Authority shall consist of eight voting members, all of whom shall be residents of Craven County. The Commanding General-Officer of the United States Marine Corps Air Station, Cherry Point, North Carolina, or the General's Commanding Officer's designee may serve as a nonvoting Honorary Member member of the Authority. Further, the Board of Commissioners of Jones County may appoint a nonvoting member to serve on the Airport Authority, the Board of Commissioners of Pamlico County may appoint a nonvoting member to serve on the Airport Authority, and the Board of Commissioners of Carteret County may appoint a nonvoting member to serve on the Airport Authority."

**SECTION 4.** Section 6(a) of Chapter 1197 of the Session Laws of 1979 reads as rewritten:

"(a) The Airport Authority shall appoint from its voting members a Chairman, Vice Chairman, and other officers as it may deem necessary for the orderly conduct of its business. A majority of the voting members shall control the decisions of the Airport Authority, and each voting member of the the Airport Authority, including the Chairman shall have one vote. A majority of the duly appointed and qualified voting members of the Airport Authority shall constitute a quorum."

**SECTION 5.** This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 3<sup>rd</sup> day of July,

2008.

Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives