GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H HOUSE BILL 845*

Short Title:	District 19A District Court Judge Funds.	(Public)
--------------	--	----------

Sponsors: Representatives Barnhart and Johnson (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to: Appropriations.

March 15, 2007

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT

JUDGE FOR DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 19A.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

7	
8	

6

4 5

0			
9	District	Judges	County
10	1	5	Camden
11			Chowan
12			Currituck
13			Dare
14			Gates
15			Pasquotank
16			Perquimans
17	2	4	Martin
18			Beaufort
19			Tyrrell
20			Hyde
21			Washington
22	3A	5	Pitt
23	3B	6	Craven
24			Pamlico
25			Carteret
26	4	8	Sampson
27			Duplin
28			Jones
29			Onslow

	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2007	
1	5	8	New Hanover	
2			Pender	
3	6A	3	Halifax	
4	6B	3	Northampton	
5			Bertie	
6			Hertford	
7	7	7	Nash	
8			Edgecombe	
9			Wilson	
10	8	6	Wayne	
11			Greene	
12			Lenoir	
13	9	4	Granville	
14			(part of Vance	
15			see subsection (b))	
16			Franklin	
17	9A	2	Person	
18			Caswell	
19	9B	2	Warren	
20			(part of Vance	
21			see subsection (b))	
22	10	16	Wake	
23	11	9	Harnett	
24			Johnston	
25			Lee	
26	12	9	Cumberland	
27	13	6	Bladen	
28			Brunswick	
29			Columbus	
30	14	7	Durham	
31	15A	4	Alamance	
32	15B	5	Orange	
33			Chatham	
34	16A	3	Scotland	
35			Hoke	
36	16B	5	Robeson	
37	17A	3	Rockingham	
38	17B	4	Stokes	
39			Surry	
40	18	13	Guilford	
41	19A	4 <u>5</u>	Cabarrus	
42	19B	7	Montgomery	
43			Moore	
44			Randolph	

Gene	eral Assembly of No	orth Carolina	Session 200'
	19C	5	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
			Anson
			Richmond
	20B	1	(part of Union
			see subsection (b))
	20C	2	(part of Union
			see subsection (b))
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
			Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
		•	Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
	21	•	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	9	Burke
	23	,	Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	18	Mecklenburg
	27A	7	Gaston
	27B	5	Cleveland
	270	3	Lincoln
	20	7	Buncombe
	28	3	
	29A	3	McDowell
	20D	4	Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
			Polk
	20		Transylvania
	30	6	Cherokee
			Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain."

5

6 7

8

1	SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge
2	for District 19A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the
3	2008 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2009.
4	SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty thousand eight hundred twenty dollars (\$80,820) for the 2007-2008 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred thirty-six thousand six hundred sixty dollars (\$136,660) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to fund the additional district court judgeship authorized by this act.

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 1, 2008.