## **GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007**

## Η

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20 21

22

23

24

25

26

27

## **HOUSE BILL 2469**

Short Title: Troutman Satellite Annexations. Representatives Ray, Howard (Primary Sponsors); and Setzer. Sponsors: Referred to: Local Government II, if favorable, Finance. May 26, 2008 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF TROUTMAN. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: **SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten: A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following "(b) standards: . . . The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to (5) the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha,

Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon.

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law. 28

1

(Local)