## **GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005**

## Η

29

## **HOUSE BILL 2295**

Short Title: District 3A District Court Judge Funds. (Public) Sponsors: Representatives McLawhorn and Warren (Primary Sponsors). Referred to: Appropriations. May 22, 2006 1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH A NEW DISTRICT COURT 3 JUDGE IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 3A. 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 5 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten: "§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional 6 7 seats of court, by counties. 8 (a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the 9 following table: 10 District Judges County 11 1 5 Camden 12 Chowan 13 Currituck 14 Dare 15 Gates 16 Pasquotank 17 Perquimans 2 Martin 18 4 19 Beaufort 20 Tyrrell 21 Hyde 22 Washington 23 3A <u>56</u> Pitt 5 24 3B Craven 25 Pamlico 26 Carteret 8 27 4 Sampson Duplin 28 Jones

1

5 6A 6B	8 2 3	Onslow New Hanover Pender Halifax
6A	2	New Hanover Pender
6A	2	Pender
		Northampton
	5	Bertie
		Hertford
7	7	Nash
1	1	Edgecombe
		Wilson
8	6	Wayne
0	0	Greene
		Lenoir
0	Λ	Granville
9	4	
		(part of Vance
		see subsection (b))
0.4	2	Franklin
9A	2	Person
		Caswell
9B	2	Warren
		(part of Vance
		see subsection (b))
		Wake
11	8	Harnett
		Johnston
		Lee
12	9	Cumberland
13	6	Bladen
		Brunswick
		Columbus
14	6	Durham
15A	4	Alamance
		Orange
		Chatham
16A	3	Scotland
	-	Hoke
16B	5	Robeson
		Rockingham
		Stokes
	+	
18	10	Surry Guilford
		Cabarrus
198	0	Montgomery Moore
	13	8   6     9   4     9A   2     9B   2     10   15     11   15     12   9     13   6     14   6     15B   4     16A   3     16B   5     17B   4     18   12     19A   4

Gei	neral Assembly of Nor	Session 2005	
			Randolph
	19C	4	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
			Anson
			Richmond
	20B	3	Union
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
			Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
	23	т	Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
	24	4	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
	25	8	Yancey Burke
	23	0	Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	17	
	20 27A		Mecklenburg Gaston
		6	Cleveland
	27B	4	
	20	ć	Lincoln
	28	6	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell Distlogifierd
	200	4	Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
			Polk
	20	-	Transylvania
	30	5	Cherokee
			Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain"
			nt the additional district court judg
			ge's successor shall be elected in th
	-	or a four-year term com	nmencing on the first Monday i
Dec	ember 2008		

43 2008 general el44 December 2008.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172)
for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the new district court judge for District Court
District 3A authorized by this act.
SECTION 4. This act becomes effective December 15, 2006, or the date

- 6 upon which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, 7 whichever is later
- 7 whichever is later.