GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

H.B. 791 Apr 11, 2017 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

Η

1 2

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

HOUSE BILL DRH40448-ST-42 (03/10)

Short Title: Electoral Districts/Wake Co District Ct. (Public)

Sponsors: Representatives Dollar, Malone, and Williams (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ESTABLISH ELECTORAL DISTRICTS FOR WAKE COUNTY DISTRICT COURT JUDGES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

10	District	Judges	County
11 12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	6	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret
28	4	8	Sampson
29			Duplin
30			Jones
31			Onslow
32	5	9	New Hanover
33			Pender
34	6	4	Northampton
35			Bertie
36			Hertford



(General Assembly C	of North Carolina	Session 2017	
1			Halifax	
2	7	7	Nash	
3			Edgecombe	
4			Wilson	
5	8	6	Wayne	
6			Greene	
7			Lenoir	
8	9	4	Granville	
9			(part of Vance	
10			see subsection (b))	
11			Franklin	
12	9A	2	Person	
13			Caswell	
14	9B	2	Warren	
15			(part of Vance	
16			see subsection (b))	
17	10 10A	19 3	part of Wake	
18		_	(see subsection (b))	
19	<u>10B</u>	<u>3</u>	part of Wake	
20		_	(see subsection (b))	
21	<u>10C</u>	<u>3</u>	part of Wake	
22		-	(see subsection (b))	
23	<u>10D</u>	<u>3</u>	part of Wake	
24	<u> 102</u>	<u>e</u>	(see subsection (b))	
25	<u>10E</u>	<u>3</u>	part of Wake	
26	<u> 102</u>	<u>~</u>	(see subsection (b))	
27	<u>10F</u>	<u>4</u>	part of Wake	
28	101	-	(see subsection (b))	
29	11	11	Harnett	
30		11	Johnston	
31			Lee	
32	12	10	Cumberland	
33	13	6	Bladen	
34	13	O .	Brunswick	
35			Columbus	
36	14	7	Durham	
37	15A	4	Alamance	
38	15R 15B	5	Orange	
39	13 D	3	Chatham	
40	16A	6	Scotland	
41	10/1	o .	Hoke	
42			Anson	
43			Richmond	
43 44	16B	5	Robeson	
45	17A	3	Rockingham	
46	17B	4	Stokes	
40 47	1 / D	4		
	10	1.4	Surry	
48	18	14	Guilford	
49 50	19A	5 7	Cabarrus	
50 51	19B	/	Moore	
51			Moore	

	General Assemb	oly Of North Carolina	Session 2017		
1			Randolph		
2	19C	5	Rowan		
3	20A	2	Stanly		
4	20B	$\frac{\overline{1}}{1}$	(part of Union		
5		_	see subsection (b))		
6	20C	2	(part of Union		
7	200	_	see subsection (b))		
8	20D	1	Union		
9	21	11	Forsyth		
10	22A	5	Alexander		
11		S	Iredell		
12	22B	6	Davidson		
13	220	· ·	Davie		
14	23	4	Alleghany		
15	23	·	Ashe		
16			Wilkes		
17			Yadkin		
18	24	4	Avery		
19	<i>2</i> 1	·	Madison		
20			Mitchell		
21			Watauga		
22			Yancey		
23	25	9	Burke		
24	23	,	Caldwell		
25			Catawba		
26	26	21	Mecklenburg		
27	27A	7	Gaston		
28	27B	6	Cleveland		
29	275	· ·	Lincoln		
30	28	7	Buncombe		
31	29A	3	McDowell		
32		<u> </u>	Rutherford		
33	29B	4	Henderson		
34	2,2	·	Polk		
35			Transylvania		
36	30	6	Cherokee		
37	20	Ü	Clay		
38			Graham		
39			Haywood		
40			Jackson		
41			Macon		
42			Swain.		
43	(b) For d	istrict court districts of less than			
44	(b) For district court districts of less than a whole county, or with part or all of one county with part of another, the composition of the district is as follows:				
45	(1) District Court District 9 consists of Franklin and Granville Counties and the				
46	remainder of Vance County not in District Court District 9B.				
47	(2) District Court District 9B consists of Warren County and East Henderson I,				
48	(-/		nderson II, Middleburg, Townsville, and		
49		Williamsboro Precincts of Vance			
50	(3)		sts of the remainder of Union County not in		
51	(- /	District Court District 20B.			

- **(4)** District Court District 20B consists of Precinct 01: Tract 204.01: Block 1 2 Group 2: Block 2040, Block 2057, Block 2058, Block 2060, Block 2061, 3 Block 2062, Block 2064, Block 2065; Tract 204.02: Block Group 2: Block 4 2001, Block 2002, Block 2003, Block 2004, Block 2005, Block 2006, Block 5 2007, Block 2008, Block 2009, Block 2010, Block 2011, Block 2012, Block 6 2013, Block 2014, Block 2015, Block 2016, Block 2017, Block 2018, Block 7 2023, Block 2024, Block 2025, Block 2026, Block 2027, Block 2028, Block 8 2029, Block 2030, Block 2031, Block 2032, Block 2033, Block 2034; Block 9 Group 3: Block 3000, Block 3003, Block 3004, Block 3005, Block 3006, 10 Block 3007, Block 3008, Block 3009, Block 3010, Block 3011, Block 3012, 11 Block 3013, Block 3014, Block 3015, Block 3016, Block 3017, Block 3018, 12 Block 3019, Block 3020, Block 3021, Block 3022, Block 3023, Block 3024, 13 Block 3025, Block 3026, Block 3027, Block 3028, Block 3029, Block 3030, 14 Block 3031, Block 3032, Block 3033, Block 3034, Block 30 35, Block 3036, 15 Block 3037, Block 3038, Block 3039, Block 3040, Block 3041, Block 3042, Block 3043, Block 3044, Block 3045, Block 3046, Block 3047; Block 16 17 Group 4: Block 4035, Block 4054, Block 4055; Precinct 02: Tract 205: 18 Block Group 1: Block 1000, Block 1001, Block 1002, Block 1003, Block 19 1004, Block 1005, Block 1006, Block 1007, Block 1009, Block 1010, Block 20 1011, Block 1012, Block 1013, Block 1014, Block 1015, Block 1016, Block 21 1017, Block 1018, Block 1019, Block 1020, Block 1021, Block 1022, Block 22 1023, Block 1037, Block 1038; Block Group 2: Block 2081, Block 2082, 23 Block 2092, Block 2099, Block 2100, Block 2101, Block 2102; Tract 206: 24 Block Group 3: Block 3036, Block 3038, Block 3039, Block 3040, Block 25 3048; Block Group 4: Block 4053; Precinct 03, Precinct 04, Precinct 06: 26 Tract 202.02: Block Group 1: Block 1012, Block 1013, Block 1014, Block 27 1015, Block 1017, Block 1018, Block 1021, Block 1022, Block 1023; Tract 204.01: Block Group 2: Block 2000, Block 2001, Block 2002, Block 200 3, 28 29 Block 2004, Block 2005, Block 2033, Block 2034, Block 2035, Block 2036, 30 Block 2041, Block 2042, Block 2043, Block 2044, Block 2045, Block 2056, 31 Block 2063, Block 2999; Precinct 08, Precinct 09, Precinct 10, Precinct 13, 32 Precinct 23: Tract 206: Block Group 4: Block 4051; Precinct 25: Tract 206: 33 Block Group 4: Block 4036; Precinct 34, Precinct 36, Precinct 43 of Union 34 County. 35
 - (5) <u>District court District 10A consists of that territory in Superior Court District 10A</u>, as established in G.S. 7A-41(b)(6).
 - (6) <u>District court District 10B consists of that territory in Superior Court District 10B</u>, as established in G.S. 7A-41(b)(7).
 - (7) <u>District Court District 10C consists of that territory in Superior Court District 10C</u>, as established in G.S. 7A-41(b)(8).
 - (8) <u>District Court District 10D consists of that territory in Superior Court District 10D</u>, as established in G.S. 7A-41(b)(9).
 - (9) <u>District Court District 10E consists of that territory in Superior Court District 10E</u>, as established in G.S. 7A-41(b)(10).
 - (10) <u>District Court District 10F consists of that territory in Superior Court District 10F, as established in G.S. 7A-41(b)(11).</u>

Precinct boundaries as used in this section for Vance County are those shown on maps on file with the Legislative Services Office on May 1, 1991, for Union County, are those shown on the Legislative Services Office's redistricting computer database on January 1, 2005; and for other counties are those reported by the United States Bureau of the Census under Public Law 94-171 for the 1990 Census in the IVTD Version of the TIGER files.

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

46 47

48 49

50

51

1" 2 3 and ther

4

SECTION 2. This act becomes effective January 1, 2019, and elections in 2018 and thereafter shall be held in accordance with G.S. 7A-133, as amended by Section 1 of this act, as terms expire.