## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

## SESSION LAW 2017-58 HOUSE BILL 288

AN ACT TO AMEND THE CHARTERS OF THE TOWNS OF RAYNHAM AND ORRUM TO EXTEND THE TERM OF OFFICE FOR THE MAYOR OF RAYNHAM AND MAYOR OF ORRUM FROM TWO YEARS TO FOUR YEARS; TO EXTEND FOR THE TOWN COUNCIL OF ORRUM FROM TWO YEARS TO FOUR YEARS; AND TO ALLOW FOR ELECTIONS FOR ALL TOWN OFFICERS IN RAYNHAM AND ORRUM TO BE CONDUCTED ON THE SAME SCHEDULE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Section 3 of the Charter of the Town of Raynham, being Chapter 388 of the 1975 Session Laws, as amended by Section 1 of Chapter 16 of the 1977 Session Laws and Section 1 of Chapter 270 of the 1977 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3. The Board of Commissioners of the Town of Raynham shall consist of three members beginning on the first Monday in December, 1977. The members. In 2017, and quadrennially thereafter, the members shall be elected for staggered terms as provided in Section 4 of this act. The <u>a</u> term of four years. In 2017, and quadrennially thereafter, the mayor of the town shall be elected for a term of two years. four years and shall serve until the mayor's successor is elected and qualified."

**SECTION 2.** Section 4 of the Charter of the Town of Raynham, being Chapter 388 of the 1975 Session Laws, as amended by Section 1 of Chapter 16 of the 1977 Session Laws and Section 1 of Chapter 270 of the 1977 Session Laws, is repealed.

**SECTION 3.** The previous elections in the Town of Raynham since May 26, 1975, are hereby validated, notwithstanding any irregularity in the elections for the members of the Board of Commissioners. Further, any and all actions of the Board of Commissioners of the Town of Raynham since May 26, 1975, are hereby ratified and confirmed, notwithstanding any irregularity in the manner of election.

**SECTION 4.(a)** Section 2.2 of the Charter of the Town of Orrum, being Chapter 993 of the 1983 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 2.2. Town Council; Composition; Terms of Office. The Town Council shall be composed of 4 members, each of whom shall be elected for a term of <del>2 years four years in the</del> manner provided by Article III of this Charter, provided they shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified."

**SECTION 4.(b)** Section 2.3 of the Charter of the Town of Orrum, being Chapter 993 of the 1983 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 2.3. Mayor; Term of Office; Duties. The Mayor shall be elected in the manner provided by Article II of this Charter to serve for a term of <u>2 years four years</u> or until <u>his the mayor's</u> successor is elected and qualified. The Mayor shall be the official head of the Town government and shall preside at all meetings of the Council. <u>He The mayor</u> shall have the right to vote in any and all matters before the Council. The Mayor shall exercise such powers and perform such duties as presently are or hereinafter may be conferred upon <u>him the mayor</u> by the General Statutes of North Carolina, by this Charter, and by the ordinances of the Town."



**SECTION 4.(c)** Section 3.1 of the Charter of the Town of Orrum, being Chapter 993 of the 1983 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3.1. Regular Municipal Elections; Conduct and Method of Election. Regular municipal elections shall be held in the Town every <u>2 years four years</u> and shall be conducted in accordance with the uniform municipal election laws of North Carolina. The Mayor and members of the Council shall be elected according to the nonpartisan plurality method of election."

**SECTION 4.(d)** Section 3.2 of the Charter of the Town of Orrum, being Chapter 993 of the 1983 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3.2. Election of Council Members. At the regular municipal election in 1984, and biennially thereafter, in 2017, and quadrennially thereafter, all council members shall be nominated and voted upon by the voters of the Town voting at large."

**SECTION 4.(e)** Section 3.3 of the Charter of the Town of Orrum, being Chapter 993 of the 1983 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3.3. Election of Mayor. At the regular municipal election in 1984, and biennially thereafter, in 2017, and quadrennially thereafter, there shall be elected a Mayor to serve a term of  $\frac{2}{2}$  years. four years. The Mayor shall be elected by the voters of the Town voting at large."

**SECTION 5.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2017.

s/ Daniel J. Forest President of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore

Speaker of the House of Representatives