GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

SESSION LAW 2014-46 HOUSE BILL 1067

AN ACT TO DEANNEX TWO DESCRIBED TRACTS FROM THE CORPORATE LIMITS OF THE TOWN OF MURPHY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. The corporate limits of the Town of Murphy are reduced by removing the following described tracts: FIRST TRACT:

In District #3 of Cherokee County and in Murphy Township, and bounded and more particularly described as follows:

It being a part of Tract #117, in said District.

BEGINNING on a Holly on the line of #116 and #117 standing on the North bank of a small branch that empties into Axley Mill Creek, runs up said branch with its meanders S 84 and 20 poles to a stake on said branch near two Maples; then N 39-1/2 E 27 1/2 poles to a Pine on the top of a ridge; thence N 58 1/2 W 26 poles to a small Sourwood just North of the top of the ridge; then N 78 W 14 1/2 poles to a small Black Oak on the South side of the old road on the top of the ridge and on the line of #116 and #117; then with said line S 3 1/2 W 35 poles to the BEGINNING, containing 6 1/2 acres, more or less. SECOND TRACT:

This being a strip of land 16 feet wide and being the old Unica roadway and public road leading from where J.W. Dyer's land lies in an Eastern direction with the meanders of the said old roadway to the point where the same intersects the Hayesville and Murphy public road in the West side of Hiwassee River at the old Blackwell Mill place, the said land being located and situated in Murphy Township and being a part of the G.W. Hampton farm.

SECTION 2. This act has no effect upon the validity of any liens of the Town of Murphy for ad valorem taxes or special assessments outstanding before the effective date of this act. Such liens may be collected or foreclosed upon after the effective date of this act as though the property were still within the corporate limits of the Town of Murphy.

SECTION 3. This act becomes effective June 30, 2014.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30th day of June, 2014.

- s/ Daniel J. Forest President of the Senate
- s/ Tim Moore Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives

