## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

S

## **SENATE BILL 944\***

	Short Title:	Town of Wallace/Satellite Annexations. (Local)
	Sponsors:	Senator Jackson (Primary Sponsor).
	Referred to:	State and Local Government.
		May 31, 2012
1 2 3		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED MOVING CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR VN OF WALLACE.
4		Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5		ECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:
6 7	"(b) A standards:	noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
8 9	(1)	The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
10 11	(2)	No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits
12 13 14	(3)	<ul> <li>of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this section.</li> <li>The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it</li> </ul>
15 16	(4)	provides within its primary corporate limits.
17	<del>(4)</del>	as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included.
18	(5)	
19 20		area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
20 21		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont,
22		Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,
23		Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton,
24		Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury,
25		Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier,
26		Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba,
27		Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four
28		Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level,
29		Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Huntersville, Jamestown,
30		Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg,
31 32		Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville,
32 33		Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte,
33 34		Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville,
35		Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell,
36		Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."



1

	General Assembly of North Carolina	Session 2011
1 2	<b>SECTION 2.</b> This act applies to the Town of Wallace only. <b>SECTION 3.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.	