GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

H HOUSE RESOLUTION DRHR50192-LG-93 (03/21)

Sponsors: Representative Pierce.

Referred to:

A HOUSE RESOLUTION HONORING HOKE COUNTY'S ONE HUNDREDTH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, Hoke County was formed from Cumberland and Robeson Counties by an act of the General Assembly on February 17, 1911; and

Whereas, Hoke County was named in honor of Robert F. Hoke, a major general in the Confederate Army, who was a native of Lincolnton, North Carolina, and later served as a railroad president in Raleigh, North Carolina; and

Whereas, the first officers of Hoke County included Jeptha Peele and W.T. Covington, as county commissioners; and

Whereas, the Town of Raeford, Hoke County's seat of government, was named for the Town's founders, J.A. MacRae and A.A. Williford; and

Whereas, the citizens of Hoke County have made significant contributions to the social, cultural, political, and economic prosperity of the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, plans have been made to celebrate Hoke County's 100th anniversary from April 1 through April 16, 2011, and during other times throughout the year; and

Whereas, this occasion is worthy of celebration and should be enjoyed and supported by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives:

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

20

21

2223

24

25

26

SECTION 1. The House of Representatives honors the early settlers of Hoke County for their contributions to North Carolina.

SECTION 2. The House of Representatives congratulates Hoke County on its 100th anniversary and encourages the people of this State to join the citizens of Hoke County in celebrating this historic occasion.

SECTION 3. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Chair of the Hoke County Board of Commissioners.

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon adoption.

