GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

H HOUSE BILL 1196

Short Title:	Albemarle Mental Health Center Property.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representative Owens (Primary Sponsor).	
	For a complete list of Sponsors, see Bill Information on the NCGA Web	Site.
Referred to:	Government, if favorable, Finance.	

May 31, 2012

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO PROVIDE A PROCESS FOR CONVEYING AN INTEREST IN REAL PROPERTY OWNED BY ALBEMARLE MENTAL HEALTH CENTER TO EAST CAROLINA BEHAVIORAL HEALTH.

Whereas, Albemarle Mental Health Center (AMHC), Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, was a Local Management Entity and political subdivision of the State pursuant to G.S. 122C-116 covering 10 counties; and

Whereas, AMHC was dissolved under Chapter 122C of the General Statutes effective July 1, 2010; and

Whereas, AMHC owned real property in Camden, Currituck, and Perquimans Counties; and

Whereas, the real property was to have been conveyed to East Carolina Behavioral Health (ECBH) upon dissolution of AMHC; and

Whereas, proper provision was not made for the conveyance in the winding up of AMHC; and

Whereas, the General Assembly desires to create a process by which this conveyance may occur; and

Whereas, the catchment area of AMHC was Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Martin, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington Counties; Now, therefore, The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. The Director of the Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services of the Department of Health and Human Services may wind up the affairs of the Albemarle Mental Health Center (AMHC), Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services by entering into any necessary interlocal agreements and conveying its interests in real property in Camden, Currituck, and Perquimans Counties to East Carolina Behavioral Health (ECBH) as provided in the consolidation agreement between AMHC, ECBH, and the 10 counties in the catchment area.

SECTION 2. This act applies in Camden, Currituck, and Perquimans Counties only.

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.

