GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

Η

1

11

HOUSE DRH30244-LM-116 (3/18)

Short Title:	Warrenton/Community Development Target Areas.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representative Wray.	
Referred to:		

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ALLOW THE TOWN OF WARRENTON TO DECLARE RESIDENTIAL AND
 NONRESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS IN COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT TARGET
 AREAS UNSAFE AND TO HAVE THE OPTION OF REMOVING OR DEMOLISHING
 THOSE BUILDINGS.
 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
 SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-425.1(d) reads as rewritten:

8 "(d) This section applies to the Cities of Clinton, Durham, Fayetteville, Goldsboro, High
9 Point, Lumberton, Rocky Mount, Whiteville, and Wilson, and the Towns of Garner, Franklin,
10 Hope Mills, Louisburg, and Spring Lake only. Spring Lake, and Warrenton only."

SECTION 2. G.S. 160A-432(a1) reads as rewritten:

12 "(a1) [Removal of Building: Certain Localities.] – In the case of a residential building or nonresidential building or structure declared unsafe under G.S. 160A-425.1, a city may, in lieu 13 14 of taking action under subsection (a), cause the building or structure to be removed or 15 demolished. The amounts incurred by the city in connection with the removal or demolition 16 shall be a lien against the real property upon which the cost was incurred. The lien shall be 17 filed, have the same priority, and be collected in the same manner as liens for special assessments provided in Article 10 of this Chapter. If the building or structure is removed or 18 demolished by the city, the city shall sell the usable materials of the building and any personal 19 20 property, fixtures, or appurtenances found in or attached to the building. The city shall credit the proceeds of the sale against the cost of the removal or demolition. Any balance remaining 21 22 from the sale shall be deposited with the clerk of superior court of the county where the property is located and shall be disbursed by the court to the person found to be entitled thereto 23 24 by final order or decree of the court.

This subsection applies to the Cities of Clinton, Durham, Fayetteville, Goldsboro, High
Point, Lumberton, Rocky Mount, and Wilson, and the Towns of Garner, Franklin, Hope Mills,
Louisburg, and Spring Lake. Spring Lake, and Warrenton only."

28

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.



D