## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009 RATIFIED BILL

## RESOLUTION 2010-18 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1900

## A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE LIFE AND MEMORY OF SERGEANT MICKEY HUTCHENS, FALLEN WINSTON-SALEM POLICE OFFICER.

Whereas, Mickey Hutchens was born November 6, 1958, to Shirley and Donald Hutchens; and

Whereas, Mickey graduated from Forbush High School in 1976 and earned an Associate's Degree from Surry Community College in 1979 and a Bachelor of Arts from Gardner-Webb University in 1981; and

Whereas, Mickey Hutchens was a faithful member of Forbush Baptist Church, where he served as a deacon and volunteered for local mission work; and

Whereas, Mickey Hutchens was a member of the Winston-Salem Police Department for 27 years, during which time he served as a juvenile detective and worked in the Department's Office of Professional Standards among his many assignments; and

Whereas, Mickey Hutchens died on October 12, 2009, due to the injuries he received from a gunshot wound while responding to a call on October 7, 2009; and

Whereas, Mickey Hutchens was respected, admired, and loved by those who knew him and those who had the privilege of working with him; and

Whereas, Mickey Hutchens is survived by his wife Beth Hutchens; daughters Jill and Leah; mother Shirley and stepfather Donald Bowen; and sisters Sherri and Wendy; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

**SECTION 1.** The General Assembly honors the memory of Sergeant Mickey Hutchens and expresses the appreciation of this State and its citizens for the outstanding dedication and service as a law enforcement officer.

**SECTION 2.** The General Assembly extends its sympathy to the family of Sergeant Mickey Hutchens for the loss of a beloved family member.

**SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the family of Sergeant Mickey Hutchens.

**SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 29<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2010.

Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives

