GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 2075

Sponsors:	Representative	es Cole:	and Dockham.
oponsors.	1xcpresentativ	os Coic,	and Docknam.

1 2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10 11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

Referred to: Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House.

May 14, 2008

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THOSE WHO HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO THE SUCCESS OF THE REIDSVILLE HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL PROGRAM.

Whereas, the City of Reidsville is often referred to as the football capital of North Carolina because of the success of the boys' varsity football program at Reidsville High School; and

Whereas, the Reidsville High School football program leads the State in the number of State championships, having won 16 titles in 21 appearances; and

Whereas, Reidsville High School football program won its first State championship in 1930, followed by championships in 1931, 1932, 1937, 1939, 1940, 1943, 1945, 1950, 1954, 1963, 1969, 1970, 2002, 2003, and 2007; and

Whereas, the Reidsville High School was named the State high school football co-champion in 1943 and 1963 as a result of a tie game in those years; and

Whereas, one of Reidsville High School football team's most recent accomplishments includes finishing its 2007 season with a conference record of 16-0; and

Whereas, over the years, individual team members have been recognized for their efforts, resulting in players being selected to participate in the Shrine Bowl and being recruited to play at various colleges and universities; and

Whereas, several Reidsville football players have had successful professional careers, playing for the New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, and Chicago Bears; and

Whereas, the Reidsville High School football program has had outstanding coaches who have been instrumental in helping the football program excel; and

Whereas, some of the Reidsville High School head football coaches include: Lindsey Jackson "Hap" Perry, who helped the team win seven State championships during his tenure from 1927 to 1945; George Washington Wingfield, who coached the team from 1946 to 1960 and led the team to four State championships; John Morris, who guided teams, which included the consolidated teams of Reidsville High School and the former Booker T. Washington High School, from 1967 to 1973 and won two

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

1415

16

17

18

19

20

21

State championships; and current coach Jimmy Teague, who took over in 1992 and serves as the coach with the most wins in the school's history; and

Whereas, throughout the years, Reidsville's citizens and the Reidsville High School alumni have provided tremendous support to the football program as the team changed its mascot from the Golden Tornados, the Golden Lions, and finally the Rams; and

Whereas, the achievements of the Reidsville High School football program is a fitting testimonial and memorial to Edwin Holten, a member of the Golden Tornados and Tommy Burts, a member of the Golden Lions, who died while they were members of the football team; and

Whereas, the Reidsville High School football program has brought great honor and distinction to the State and deserves recognition; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly honors the players, coaches, and fans of Reidsville High School for their roles in helping the school football program succeed.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the life and memory of Edwin Holten and Tommy Burts for their contributions to the Reidsville High School football program.

SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the athletic director of Reidsville High School.

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.