## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H 2

## HOUSE BILL 194\* Committee Substitute Favorable 3/29/07

Short little: Cherokee School Board Terms.	(Locai)
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	
February 15, 2007	
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO CHANGE THE TERM OF OFFICE FOR FUTURE ELEC	CTFD
MEMBERS OF THE CHEROKEE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION F SIX YEARS TO FOUR YEARS.	
The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:  SECTION 1. Section 7 of Chapter 502 of the 1975 Session Laws re	ads as
rewritten:	
"Sec. 7. All members of the Cherokee County Board of Education elected und provisions of this act shall serve for terms of six—four years each and until successors are elected and qualified. As the term of each member expires, his successors	l their
shall be elected for a term of six-four years."  SECTION 2. Sections 4 through 6 of Chapter 502 of the 1075 Section	Larra
<b>SECTION 2.</b> Sections 4 through 6 of Chapter 502 of the 1975 Session read as rewritten:	
"Sec. 4. In the year of 1976, there shall be elected, 2012 and quadrer thereafter, as hereinafter provided, two members of the county board of education	n from
District No. 1 and one member from District No. 2, all of whom shall be residents district which they are elected to represent.	of the
"Sec. 5. In the year of <del>1978, 2014</del> and quadrennially thereafter, there sh	all be

 "Sec. 6. In the year of 1980, 2010 and quadrennially thereafter, there shall be elected, as hereinafter provided, two members of the county board of education from District No. 3, which members shall be residents of the district which they are elected to represent."

shall not be required to reside in or represent any one particular district.

elected, as hereinafter provided, one member of the county board of education from

District No. 2, and one member from the county at large. The member from District No. 2 shall be a resident of the district which he is elected to represent. The member at large

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective upon certification of the Cherokee County Board of Education elected in 2010 and thereafter, and does not affect the term of office of members elected in 2002, 2004, 2006, or 2008.