GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H D

HOUSE DRH10120-MA-158 (2/21)

Short Title: Funding of Corridor K Roads. (Public)

Sponsors: Representative Haire.

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO REQUIRE THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION TO FUND THE COMPLETION OF THE APPALACHIAN DEVELOPMENT HIGHWAY SYSTEM ROADS CONTAINED IN CORRIDOR K BY USING THE TOTAL AMOUNT OF FUNDS ALLOCATED TO THE STATE FROM THE APPALACHIAN REGIONAL COMMISSION FOR THIS PURPOSE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 136-17.2A(a) reads as rewritten:

- "(a) Funds expended for the Intrastate System projects listed in G.S. 136-179 and both State and federal-aid funds expended under the Transportation Improvement Program, other than federal congestion mitigation and air quality improvement program funds appropriated to the State by the United States pursuant to 23 U.S.C. § 104(b)(2) and 23 U.S.C. § 149, funds expended on an urban loop project listed in G.S. 136-180 G.S. 136-180, funds from the Appalachian Regional Commission for the Appalachian Development Highway System, and funds received through competitive awards or discretionary grants through federal appropriations either for local governments, transportation authorities, transit authorities, or the Department, shall be distributed throughout the State in accordance with this section.
 - (1) Distribution Region A consists of the following counties: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.
 - (2) Distribution Region B consists of the following counties: Beaufort, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, and Sampson.

Rowan, and Stokes.

- Distribution Region C consists of the following counties: Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Person, Robeson, Vance, Wake, and Warren.

 Distribution Region D consists of the following counties: Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Orange, Rockingham,
 - (5) Distribution Region E consists of the following counties: Anson, Cabarrus, Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Randolph, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union.
 - (6) Distribution Region F consists of the following counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin.
 - (7) Distribution Region G consists of the following counties: Buncombe, Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey."

SECTION 2. Chapter 136 of the General Statutes is amended by adding a new section to read:

"§ 136-44.2D. Appalachian Development Highway System corridor funds.

The Department of Transportation shall use any funds received from the Appalachian Regional Commission for the completion of the construction of roads in the Appalachian Development Highway System, specifically Corridor K roads, within this State. Upon the completion of Corridor K roads within this State, the Department shall use any funds received from the Appalachian Regional Commission for the completion of the construction of roads in the Appalachian Development Highway System in any remaining corridor within this State."

SECTION 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 2007.

Page 2 H1507 [Filed]