GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

Η

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION DRHJR30342-LG-490A* (03/26)

D

Sponsors:	Representatives Farmer-Butterfield and Tolson (Primary Sponsors).
Referred to:	

1 A JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM AT 2 BARTON COLLEGE ON BECOMING THE 2007 NCAA DIVISION II 3 NATIONAL CHAMPIONS. 4 Whereas, the men's basketball program at Barton College in the City of 5 Wilson warrants recognition and a commendation for its outstanding achievements; and 6 Whereas, on March 24, 2007, the Bulldogs won the NCAA Division II National Championship by defeating the defending national champion Winona State by 7 8 a score of 77-75, ending the top-ranked and undefeated Warriors' Division II record win 9 streak at 57 games; and 10 Whereas, this championship was the first NCAA title for Barton College in 11 any sport; and 12 Whereas, the men's basketball team finished in the Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference (CVAC) season as the regular season champions and as the 13 14 conference tournament champions for the second straight year; and Whereas, the Bulldogs set several school records during its 2006-2007 season 15 16 achieving a 19-1 CVAC record, winning 21 straight games, and posting an overall record of 31-5; and 17 18 Whereas, the Bulldogs went an unbelievable 9-0 in overtime games, setting the all-time, all-divisions NCAA record for OT games played and OT games won; and 19 20 Whereas, on the road to the National Championship, Barton College with a 21 full-time enrollment of 925 students defeated a number of teams with much larger 22 student enrollments, including Grand Valley State with 23,000 students, California State 23 San Bernardino with 17,000 students, and Winona State with 8,000 students; and 24 Whereas, several individual team members were recognized for their efforts during the year including, Wilson native and senior point guard, Anthony Atkinson, 25 who was named the CVAC Player of the Year, CVAC Tournament MVP, East Regional 26 Tournament MVP, and the NCAA Division II Elite Eight MVP, and voted a first-team 27 28 All-American: and

1 Whereas, Anthony Atkinson scored the game-winning points during the last 2 possession of all three of Barton's Elite Eight victories, including the final 10 points in 3 the last 39 seconds of the National Championship game; and 4 Whereas, head coach Ron Lievense has coached the Bulldogs for 11 years 5 and was named the 2007 CVAC Coach of the Year, his fourth title; and 6 Whereas, the success of the men's basketball program along with the many 7 academic achievements of the students is part of a long-standing tradition of excellence 8 at Barton College, formerly Atlantic Christian College, which in 1990, was renamed in 9 honor of Barton W. Stone; and 10 Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments of the players and coaches of 11 the men's basketball program bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina and deserve recognition; Now, therefore, 12 13 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring: 14 SECTION 1. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and 15 admiration of the people of North Carolina to the men's basketball team at Barton 16 College for winning the 2007 NCAA Division II National Basketball Championship and 17 recognizes the achievements of team members: Anthony Atkinson, Alejo Barovero, 18 Spenser Briggs, Bobby Buffaloe, Jeff Dalce, L.J. Dunn, Jarrett Eason, Mike Flowers, 19 Errol Frails, Mark Friscone, Charles Gamble, Travis Johnson, David King, Brian 20 Leggett, Bobby McNeil, Sam Pounds, and Brandon Raffel; head coach Ron Lievense, 21 assistant coaches Joel Zimmerman, John Skinner, and Mark Pounds; and other staff 22 members. 23 **SECTION 2.** The General Assembly honors the memory of the founders of 24 Barton College for their vision and contributions to the State of North Carolina. 25 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this 26 resolution to President Dr. Norval C. Kneten, Athletic Director Gary W. Hall, and Head 27 Coach Ron Lievense.

28

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.