GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

SENATE DRS85458-LL-346 (05/17)

Short Title: Divide Superior Court District 13.

Sponsors:	Senators Soles, and Rand.
Referred to:	

1					
1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED				
2	AN ACT TO DIVIDE SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT 13.				
3	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:				
4	SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-41(a) reads as rewritten:				
5	"(a) The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior				
6	court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of				
7	regular resident superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of				
8	less than a whole county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section:				
9		Superior			
10	Judicial	Court		No. of Resident	
11	Division	District	Counties	Judges	
12					
13	First	1	Camden, Chowan,	2	
14			Currituck, Dare, Gates,		
15			Pasquotank, Perquimans		
16	First	2	Beaufort, Hyde,	1	
17			Martin, Tyrrell, Washingt	ton	
18	First	3A	Pitt	2	
19	Second	3B	Carteret, Craven,	3	
20			Pamlico		
21	Second	4A	Duplin, Jones,	1	
22			Sampson		
23	Second	4B	Onslow	1	
24	Second	5A	(part of New Hanover,	1	
25			part of Pender see subsect	tion (b))	
26		5B	(part of New Hanover,	1	
27			part of Pender see subsect	tion (b))	
			—		

D

(Public)

Gener	al Assembly of Nort	th Carolina	Session 200
	5C	(part of New Hanover,	1
		see subsection (b))	
First	6A	Halifax	1
First	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	1
		Northampton	
First	7A	Nash	1
First	7B	(part of Wilson,	1
		part of Edgecombe,	
		see subsection (b))	
First	7C	(part of Wilson,	1
		part of Edgecombe, see	
		subsection (b))	
Second	l 8A	Lenoir and Greene	1
Second	1 8B	Wayne	1
Third	9	Franklin, Granville,	2
		Vance, Warren	
Third	9A	Person, Caswell	1
Third	10A	(part of Wake,	2
		see subsection (b))	
Third	10B	(part of Wake,	2
		see subsection (b))	
Third	10C	(part of Wake,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Third	10D	(part of Wake,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fourth	11A	Harnett, Lee	1
Fourth	11B	Johnston	1
Fourth	12A	(part of Cumberland,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fourth	12B	(part of Cumberland,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fourth	12C	(part of Cumberland,	2
		see subsection (b))	
Fourth	13 <u>13A</u>	Bladen, Brunswick,	<u>2 1</u>
		Columbus	
Fourth	<u>13B</u>	Brunswick	$\frac{1}{1}$
Third	14A	(part of Durham,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Third	14B	(part of Durham,	3
		see subsection (b))	
Third	15A	Alamance	2
Third	15B	Orange, Chatham	2
Fourth		Scotland, Hoke	1
Fourth	16B	Robeson	2

General Assembly of North Carolina

1	Fifth	17A	Rockingham	2
1 2	Fifth	17A 17B	Stokes, Surry	$\frac{2}{2}$
2 3	Fifth	17B 18A	(part of Guilford,	2 1
3 4	1'1111	10A	see subsection (b))	1
4 5	Fifth	18B		1
	ГПШ	10D	(part of Guilford,	1
6 7	Fifth	18C	see subsection (b))	1
	ГПШ	100	(part of Guilford, see subsection (b))	1
8	Fifth	18D		1
9 10	ГПШ	16D	(part of Guilford,	1
10	Fifth	18E	see subsection (b))	1
	ГПШ	IOE	(part of Guilford,	1
12 13	Sixth	19A	see subsection (b)) Cabarrus	1
	Fifth	19A 19B		1
14 15			Montgomery, Randolph Rowan	
15	Sixth	19C	Moore	1
16	Fifth	19D		1
17	Sixth	20A	Anson, Richmond,	2
18	C:41-	200	Stanly	1
19 20	Sixth	20B	Union	1
20	Fifth	21A	(part of Forsyth,	1
21	E :64	21D	see subsection (b))	1
22	Fifth	21B	(part of Forsyth,	1
23	T ' 61	210	see subsection (b))	1
24	Fifth	21C	(part of Forsyth,	1
25	T ' 61	21D	see subsection (b))	1
26	Fifth	21D	(part of Forsyth,	1
27	C:41-	22	see subsection (b))	2
28	Sixth	22	Alexander, Davidson,	3
29 20	T ' 61	02	Davie, Iredell	1
30	Fifth	23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1
31	F' 1/1	24	Wilkes, Yadkin	2
32	Eighth	24	Avery, Madison,	2
33	G (1	25.4	Mitchell, Watauga, Yancey	2
34	Seventh	25A	Burke, Caldwell	2
35	Seventh	25B	Catawba	2 2
36	Seventh	26A	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
37	G (1	A CD	see subsection (b))	2
38	Seventh	26B	(part of Mecklenburg,	3
39	G	0.00	see subsection (b))	2
40	Seventh	26C	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
41	C 4	27.4	see subsection (b))	2
42	Seventh	27A	Gaston	2
43	Seventh	27B	Cleveland, Lincoln	2
44	Eighth	28	Buncombe	2

S1990 [Filed]

General Assembly of North Carolina

1	Eighth	29A	McDowell, Rutherford	1
2	Eighth	29B	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	1
3	Eighth	30A	Cherokee, Clay,	1
4	-		Graham, Macon, Swain	
5	Eighth	30B	Haywood, Jackson	1."
6		SECTION 2.	The superior court judgeship established	d for District 13A by
7	Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the judge currently serving District 13 who resides			
8	in Bladen or Columbus County, who shall serve until the expiration of that judge's			
9	current term.			
10		SECTION 3.	The superior court judgeship establishe	d for District 13B by
11	Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the judge currently serving District 13 who resides			
12	in Brunswick County, who shall serve until the expiration of that judge's current term.			
13		SECTION 4.	There is appropriated from the General	Fund to the Judicial
14	Department the sum of forty-seven thousand six hundred eight dollars (\$47,608) for the			
15	2006-2007 fiscal year to upgrade one superior court judge to senior resident superior			
16	court judge and provide the necessary support staff.			
17		SECTION 5	This act becomes effective January 1-2	007 or the date upon

SECTION 5. This act becomes effective January 1, 2007, or the date upon 17 which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 18 1965, whichever is later. 19