## **GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005**

## **SENATE BILL 1927**

Short Title: Clayton/Princeton Satellite Annexations. (Local) Sponsors: Senator Smith. Referred to: Finance. May 25, 2006 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS BY THE 2 3 TOWNS OF CLAYTON AND PRINCETON. 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 5 SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten: A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following 6 "(b) 7 standards: 8 . . . 9 (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to 10 the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten 11 percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the 12 annexing city. This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, 13 14 Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, 15 16 Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, 17 Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier, Ayden, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Creswell, 18 Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, 19 20 Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine 21 22 Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Spencer, 23 Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, and Zebulon." 24 **SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law. 25

1