GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

SENATE BILL 1712*

Short Title: District 15B Judge/ADA Funds.	Short Title:	District 15B Judge/ADA Funds.
--------------------------------------------	--------------	-------------------------------

Sponsors: Senator Atwater.

Referred to: Appropriations/Base Budget.

May 23, 2006

1		A BILL TO BE ENTIT	ГLED
2	AN ACT TO APPRO	OPRIATE FUNDS TO E	ESTABLISH AN ADDITIONAL
3	DISTRICT COURT	JUDGE AND THRE	E ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT
4	DISTRICT ATTORN	EYS IN DISTRICT 15B.	
5	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:		
6	SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:		
7	"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additiona		
8	seats of court,	by counties.	
9	(a) Each district co	ourt district shall have the n	umbers of judges as set forth in the
10	following table:		
11	District	Judges	County
12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	5	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret
28	4	8	Sampson
29			Duplin

(Public)

1

General Asse	nbly of North Carolina	Session 2005
		Jones
		Onslow
5	8	New Hanover
		Pender
6A	2 3	Halifax
6B	3	Northampton
		Bertie
		Hertford
7	7	Nash
		Edgecombe
		Wilson
8	6	Wayne
		Greene
		Lenoir
9	4	Granville
		(part of Vance
		see subsection (b))
		Franklin
9A	2	Person
		Caswell
9B	2	Warren
		(part of Vance
		see subsection (b))
10	15	Wake
11	8	Harnett
		Johnston
		Lee
12	9	Cumberland
13	6	Bladen
		Brunswick
		Columbus
14	6	Durham
15A	4	Alamance
15E		Orange
	—	Chatham
16A	3	Scotland
		Hoke
16E	5	Robeson
17 <i>A</i>		Rockingham
17E		Stokes
		Surry
18	12	Guilford
19A		Cabarrus
19E		Montgomery

	General Assembly of Nor	th Carolina	Session 2005
1			Moore
2			Randolph
3	19C	4	Rowan
4	20A	4	Stanly
5			Anson
6			Richmond
7	20B	3	Union
8	21	9	Forsyth
9	22	9	Alexander
0			Davidson
1			Davie
2			Iredell
3	23	4	Alleghany
4			Ashe
5			Wilkes
6			Yadkin
7	24	4	Avery
8			Madison
9			Mitchell
0			Watauga
1			Yancey
2	25	8	Burke
3			Caldwell
4			Catawba
5	26	17	Mecklenburg
6	27A	6	Gaston
7	27B	4	Cleveland
8			Lincoln
9	28	6	Buncombe
0	29A	3	McDowell
1			Rutherford
2	29B	4	Henderson
3			Polk
4			Transylvania
5	30	5	Cherokee
6			Clay
7			Graham
8			Haywood
9			Jackson
0			Macon
1			Swain"
2	SECTION 2. T	The Governor shall appo	int the additional district court judge
3			lge's successor shall be elected in the
4			the first Monday in December 2008.

44 2008 election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in December 2008.

General Assembly of North Carolina

1 2	"(a1) The cour	DN 3. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten: nties of the State are organized into prosec	
3		nties and the number of full-time assistant	district attorneys set forth
4	in the following tab	ble:	
5	D		No. of Full-Time
6	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
7	District	Counties	Attorneys
8	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	10
9		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
10		Perquimans	
11	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	6
12		Tyrrell, Washington	
13	3A	Pitt	9
14	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	10
15	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	14
16		Sampson	
17	5	New Hanover, Pender	14
18	6A	Halifax	4
19	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	4
20		Northampton	
21	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	16
22	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	11
23	9	Franklin, Granville,	11
24		Vance, Warren	
25	9A	Person, Caswell	4
26	10	Wake	31
27	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	14
28	12	Cumberland	18
29	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	11
30	14	Durham	13
31	15A	Alamance	8
32	15B	Orange, Chatham	7 <u>10</u>
33	16A	Scotland, Hoke	$5\frac{10}{5}$
34	16B	Robeson	10
35	17A	Rockingham	5
36	17B	Stokes, Surry	5
37	18	Guilford	27
38	19A	Cabarrus	6
39	19R	Montgomery, Moore, Randolph	11
40	19D	Rowan	5
40 41	20	Anson, Richmond,	15
42	20	Stanly, Union	15
43	21	Forsyth	17
43 44	21 22	Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	16
44			10

	General Assemb	oly of North Carolina	Session 2005
1		Iredell	
2	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	5
3		Yadkin	-
4	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	4
5		Watauga, Yancey	
6	25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	15
7	26	Mecklenburg	36
8	27A	Gaston	12
9	27B	Cleveland,	9
10		Lincoln	
11	28	Buncombe	11
12	29	Henderson, McDowell, Polk,	11
13		Rutherford, Transylvania	
14	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	9
15		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
16		Swain."	
17	SECT	ION 4. There is appropriated from the Genera	l Fund to the Judicial
18	Department the s	um of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy	-two dollars (\$89,172)
19	for the 2006-20	07 fiscal year to establish the additional distric	ct court judgeship for
20	District Court Di	strict 15B authorized by this act.	
21	SECT	ION 5. There is appropriated from the Genera	l Fund to the Judicial
22	Department the sum of two hundred fifty-four thousand eighty-eight dollars (\$254,088)		
23	for the 2006-200	7 fiscal year to establish the three additional ass	sistant district attorney
24	positions for Pro-	secutorial District 15B authorized by this act.	
25	SECT	ION 6. Section 1 of this act becomes effective	Procember 15 2006

25 SECTION 6. Section 1 of this act becomes effective December 15, 2006.
26 The remainder of this act becomes effective July 1, 2006.