GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

HOUSE BILL 908 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT ONE OF THE FIFTEEN MEMBERS OF THE YADKIN/PEE DEE RIVER BASIN ADVISORY COMMISSION MAY BE FROM A WATER OR SEWER MUNICIPAL UTILITY RATHER THAN AN AUTHORITY AND TO PROVIDE THAT MEMBERS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY WHOSE DISTRICTS INCLUDE ANY PART OF THE NORTH CAROLINA PORTION OF THE ROANOKE RIVER BASIN MAY SERVE AS LEGISLATIVE MEMBERS OF THE ROANOKE RIVER BASIN BI-STATE COMMISSION.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 77-113(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) The Yadkin/Pee Dee River Basin Advisory Commission shall be composed of 15 members as follows:

(7) One person from a water or sewer municipal authority, <u>utility</u>, appointed by the Governor of North Carolina.

SECTION 2. G.S. 77-92(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) The Roanoke River Basin Bi-State Commission shall consist of 18 members with each state appointing nine members. The North Carolina delegation to the Commission shall consist of the six members of the General Assembly of North Carolina appointed to the North Carolina Roanoke River Basin Advisory Committee and three nonlegislative members of the North Carolina Roanoke River Basin Advisory Committee, established pursuant to G.S. 77-103, who represent different geographical areas of the North Carolina portion of the Basin, Basin and who reside within the Basin's watershed, to be appointed by the Governor of North Carolina. The Virginia delegation to the Commission shall be appointed as determined by the Commonwealth of Virginia."

SECTION 3. G.S. 77-92(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) All members appointed to the Commission from the State of North Carolina and the Commonwealth of Virginia shall reside within the Basin's watershed. Members of the North Carolina House of Representatives, the North Carolina Senate, the Virginia House of Delegates, the Virginia Senate, and federal legislators, who have not been appointed to the Commission and whose districts include any portion of the Basin, may serve as nonvoting ex officio members of the Commission." **SECTION 4.** This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9th day of May,

2005.

Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate

James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives

Michael F. Easley Governor

Approved	.m. this	day of	. 2005
		duy 01	,2003