GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2005**

Η 1 **HOUSE BILL 2660***

Short Title: District 15B Judge/ADA Funds. (Public	:)
--	----

Representatives Hackney, Faison, and Insko (Primary Sponsors). Sponsors:

Referred to: Appropriations.

6

7 8

9

10

May 25, 2006

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH AN ADDITIONAL 3 DISTRICT COURT JUDGE AND THREE ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT

4 DISTRICT ATTORNEYS IN DISTRICT 15B. 5

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the (a) following table:

11	District	Judges	County
12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	5	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret
28	4	8	Sampson
29			Duplin

General Assembly of North Carolina	General	Assembly	of North	Carolina
---	---------	----------	----------	----------

Session 2005

1			Jones
2			Onslow
3	5	8	New Hanover
4	J	O	Pender
5	6A	2	Halifax
6	6B	2 3	Northampton
7	OB	3	Bertie
8			Hertford
9	7	7	Nash
10	,	,	Edgecombe
11			Wilson
12	8	6	Wayne
13	Ö	U	Greene
14			Lenoir
15	9	4	Granville
16	,	T	(part of Vance
17			see subsection (b))
18			Franklin
19	9A	2	Person
20)A	2	Caswell
21	9B	2	Warren
22	ЭВ	2	(part of Vance
23			see subsection (b))
24	10	15	Wake
25	11	8	Harnett
26	11	O	Johnston
27			Lee
28	12	9	Cumberland
29	13	6	Bladen
30	13	Ü	Brunswick
31			Columbus
32	14	6	Durham
33	15A	4	Alamance
33 34	15B	4 4 <u>5</u>	
35	13B	+ <u>J</u>	Orange Chatham
36	16A	3	Scotland
37	IOA	3	Hoke
38	16B	5	Robeson
39	17A	$\frac{3}{2}$	
40	17B	4	Rockingham Stokes
	17B	4	
41 42	18	12	Surry Guilford
		4	
43	19A		Cabarrus
44	19B	6	Montgomery

1			Moore
2			Randolph
3	19C	4	Rowan
4	20A	4	Stanly
5			Anson
6			Richmond
7	20B	3	Union
8	21	9	Forsyth
9	22	9	Alexander
10			Davidson
11			Davie
12			Iredell
13	23	4	Alleghany
14			Ashe
15			Wilkes
16			Yadkin
17	24	4	Avery
18		•	Madison
19			Mitchell
20			Watauga
21			Yancey
22	25	8	Burke
23	23	O	Caldwell
24			Catawba
25	26	17	Mecklenburg
26	27A	6	Gaston
27	27B	4	Cleveland
28	276	4	Lincoln
29	28	6	Buncombe
30	29A	3	McDowell
31	200	4	Rutherford
32	29B	4	Henderson
33			Polk
34	20	~	Transylvania
35	30	5	Cherokee
36			Clay
37			Graham
38			Haywood
39			Jackson
40			Macon
41			Swain"
42	SECTION 2.	The Governor shall appoin	t the additional district

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 15B authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in December 2008.

43

44

1 2

3

4

SECTION 3. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

5	in the rone wing there.		No. of Full-Time
6	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
7	District	Counties	Attorneys
8	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	10
9		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
10		Perquimans	
11	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	6
12		Tyrrell, Washington	
13	3A	Pitt	9
14	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	10
15	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	14
16		Sampson	
17	5	New Hanover, Pender	14
18	6A	Halifax	4
19	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	4
20		Northampton	
21	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	16
22	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	11
23	9	Franklin, Granville,	11
24		Vance, Warren	
25	9A	Person, Caswell	4
26	10	Wake	31
27	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	14
28	12	Cumberland	18
29	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	11
30	14	Durham	13
31	15A	Alamance	8
32	15B	Orange, Chatham	7 <u>10</u>
33	16A	Scotland, Hoke	5
34	16B	Robeson	10
35	17A	Rockingham	5
36	17B	Stokes, Surry	5
37	18	Guilford	27
38	19A	Cabarrus	6
39	19B	Montgomery, Moore, Randolph	11
40	19C	Rowan	5
41	20	Anson, Richmond,	15
42		Stanly, Union	
43	21	Forsyth	17
44	22	Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	16

	General Assembly of North Carolina			Session 2005
1			Iredell	
2	23		Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	5
3			Yadkin	
4	24		Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	4
5			Watauga, Yancey	
6	25		Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	15
7	26		Mecklenburg	36
8	27A		Gaston	12
9	27B		Cleveland,	9
10			Lincoln	
11	28		Buncombe	11
12	29		Henderson, McDowell, Polk,	11
13			Rutherford, Transylvania	
14	30		Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	9
15			Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
16			Swain."	
17		SECTION 4.	There is appropriated from the G	eneral Fund to the Judicial

SECTION 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the additional district court judgeship for District Court District 15B authorized by this act.

SECTION 5. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of two hundred fifty-four thousand eighty-eight dollars (\$254,088) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the three additional assistant district attorney positions for Prosecutorial District 15B authorized by this act.

SECTION 6. Section 1 of this act becomes effective December 15, 2006. The remainder of this act becomes effective July 1, 2006.