GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

H HOUSE BILL 1937*

Short Title:	District 6A District Court Judge Funds.	(Public)

Sponsors: Representatives Ed Jones and L. Allen (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to: Appropriations.

5

6

7

8

9

May 15, 2006

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH A NEW DISTRICT COURT
JUDGE IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 6A.

4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

_	romo wing table.		
10	District	Judges	County
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	5	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson
28			Duplin
29			Jones

 General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 200
		Onslow
5	8	New Hanover
	· ·	Pender
6A	2 <u>3</u>	Halifax
6B	3	Northampton
OB	3	Bertie
		Hertford
7	7	Nash
,	,	Edgecombe
		Wilson
8	6	Wayne
O	0	Greene
		Lenoir
9	4	Granville
9	4	
		(part of Vance
		see subsection (b))
0.4	2	Franklin
9A	2	Person
OD	2	Caswell
9B	2	Warren
		(part of Vance
		see subsection (b))
10	15	Wake
11	8	Harnett
		Johnston
		Lee
12	9	Cumberland
13	6	Bladen
		Brunswick
		Columbus
14	6	Durham
15A	4	Alamance
15B	4	Orange
		Chatham
16A	3	Scotland
		Hoke
16B	5	Robeson
17A	$\overset{\circ}{2}$	Rockingham
17B	4	Stokes
111	r	Surry
18	12	Guilford
19A	4	Cabarrus
	6	
19B	O	Montgomery

Ger	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2005	
			Randolph	
,	19C	4	Rowan	
	20A	4	Stanly	
			Anson	
			Richmond	
	20B	3	Union	
,	21	9	Forsyth	
	22	9	Alexander	
)			Davidson	
)			Davie	
			Iredell	
,	23	4	Alleghany	
			Ashe	
•			Wilkes	
			Yadkin	
	24	4	Avery	
		•	Madison	
			Mitchell	
)			Watauga	
)			Yancey	
	25	8	Burke	
,		O	Caldwell	
			Catawba	
•	26	17	Mecklenburg	
	27A	6	Gaston	
	27B	4	Cleveland	
,	270	Т	Lincoln	
	28	6	Buncombe	
, ,	29A	3	McDowell	
)	2)11	3	Rutherford	
'	29B	4	Henderson	
,	2)D	7	Polk	
,			Transylvania	
•	30	5	Cherokee	
	30	J	Clay	
			Graham	
			Haywood Jackson	
			Macon	
)	CECTION A	Cl	Swain" int the additional district court judge	

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 6A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 general election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in December 2008.

42

43

44

1	SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
2	Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172)
3	for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the new district court judge for District Court
4	District 6A authorized by this act.
5	SECTION 4. This act becomes effective December 15, 2006, or the date
6	upon which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act,
7	whichever is later.