## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

H D

## HOUSE DRH30390-LB-240 (2/8)

Short Title:	Roanoke Rapids Annexation.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representative L. Allen.	
Referred to:		

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON VOLUNTARY SATELLITE ANNE

AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON VOLUNTARY SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS BY THE CITY OF ROANOKE RAPIDS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

8 ...

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier, Ayden, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Spencer, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, and Zebulon."

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.