GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2003**

SESSION LAW 2004-65 SENATE BILL 1093

AN ACT TO ADD EDGECOMBE, HALIFAX, LENOIR, NASH, PENDER, AND WILSON COUNTIES TO THOSE COUNTIES AUTHORIZED TO USE A TAX CERTIFICATION PROCESS TO ASSIST IN THE COLLECTION DELINOUENT PROPERTY TAXES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten:

"§ 161-31. Tax certification.

Tax Certification. - The board of commissioners of a county may, by resolution, require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registration unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, ad valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the property described in the deed. The county commissioners may describe the form the certification must take in its resolution.

Exception to Tax Certification. – If a board of county commissioners adopts a resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the resolution, the register of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for registration under the supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deed: "This instrument prepared by: _______, a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector

upon disbursement of closing proceeds."

(b) Applicability. – This section applies only to Alleghany, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Lee, Lenoir, Macon, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Swain, Transylvania, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 8th day of July, 2004.

> s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

s/ Richard T. Morgan Speaker of the House of Representatives