GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2003

H 2

HOUSE BILL 745

Senate State Government, Local Government, and Veterans' Affairs Committee Substitute Adopted 5/14/03

(Public)

Short Title: Indian Cultural Center Changes.

	Sponsors: Referred to:		
	March 27, 2003		
1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
2	AN ACT TO RI	EVISE THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE NORTH CAROLINA INDIAN	
3		CENTER BOARD.	
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:		
5		TION 1. Subsection (b) of Section 2 of S.L. 1997-41, as amended by	
6		d S.L. 2001-318, reads as rewritten:	
7	"(b) The B	oard of the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc., shall consist of	
8	17 <u>19</u> members,	appointed as follows:	
9	(1)	One member representing each of the following Indian groups	
10		recognized by the State of North Carolina: the Coharie of Sampson	
11		and Harnett Counties; the Eastern Band of Cherokees; the Haliwa of	
12		Halifax, Warren, and adjoining counties;	
13	(2)	One member each from the following Indian organizations: the	
14		Cumberland County Association for Indian People, the Guilford	
15		Native Americans, the Metrolina Native Americans, and the Triangle	
16	(2)	Native American Society;	
17	(3)	One member Two members representing the education community of	
18		the State; State and residing in Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Hoke,	
19	(4)	Robeson, or Scotland County;	
20	(4)	Two Three members representing the business community of the State;	
21		State and residing in Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Hoke, Robeson, or Sectland County.	
22 23	(5)	or Scotland County; Two members representing the government of the State of North	
23 24	(3)	Carolina; and	
25	(6)	One member representing the federal government.	
26	` '	r designated in subdivisions (1) and (2) above shall be appointed by the	
27		Commission of Indian Affairs from two prioritized nominations	
28		group or organization to be represented by that member. Each member	
	Sasimila of the	Disap si signification to se represented of that member. Buen member	

1 2

designated in subdivisions (3) through (6) above shall be appointed by the North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs from two prioritized nominations submitted by the Board of the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc. If the nominating group or organization submits only one nomination or fails to submit nominations for any reason within 30 days after the date designated for submission by the Commission, the Commission shall appoint a member of its choice to fill the requirement. The Board of the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc., shall appoint a chair from the Board membership.

Members shall serve two-year terms, except that the initial terms of:

- (1) The members representing the Coharie of Sampson and Harnett Counties, the Eastern Band of Cherokees, the Indians of Person County; and the Meherrin of Hertford County; the member representing the Metrolina Native Americans; the member representing the education community of the State; one member representing the government of the State of North Carolina; and one member representing the business community shall be for one year; and
- (2) The members representing the Haliwa of Halifax, Warren, and adjoining counties, the Lumbees of Robeson, Hoke, and Scotland Counties, and the Waccamaw-Siouan from Columbus and Bladen Counties; the members representing the Cumberland County Association for Indian People and the Guilford Native Americans; one member representing the business community of the State; one member representing the government of the State of North Carolina; and one member representing the federal government shall be for two years."

SECTION 2. The initial term of the additional Lumbee representative provided for in Section 1 of this act shall be for one year. The initial term of the additional Waccamaw-Siouan representative shall be for two years. If the members representing the education community, the business community, and the government of the State of North Carolina do not meet the residency requirement provided for in Section 1 of this act on the effective date of this act, new members shall be appointed to those seats to serve the remainder of those members' terms.

SECTION 3. This act becomes effective July 1, 2003.