## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## SESSION 2001 **RATIFIED BILL**

## **RESOLUTION 2001-10 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 652**

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF MACCLESFIELD ON THE TOWN'S CENTENNIAL ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, the Town of Macclesfield was founded in 1900 by Henry Clark Bridgers, founder of the East Carolina Railroad, and named for Macclesfield, England, Henry Clark Bridgers' ancestral home; and

Whereas, the Town of Macclesfield was incorporated by the General

Assembly on May 11, 1901; and

Whereas, the first officers of the Town of Macclesfield were Mayor Henry Clark Bridgers and Commissioners W.L. Foxhall, I.A. Lindsay, and W.W. Windley; and

Whereas, the Town of Macclesfield has always been a farming community

and serves as an integral part of our nation's agriculture industry; and

Whereas, the citizens of the Town of Macclesfield have always been in the forefront, when necessary have sent young men and women to serve in time of war, and several have given their lives for our country; and

Whereas, because of the dedication and insight of its leaders and citizens in making wise decisions for the Town, the Town of Macclesfield will continue to be a

nice place to live; and

Whereas, the citizens of the Town of Macclesfield wish to celebrate its centennial by honoring those who have made the Town of Macclesfield what it is today; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

**SECTION 1.** The General Assembly wishes to honor the founders of the Town of Macclesfield and extends its sincere congratulations and best wishes to the Town of Macclesfield upon the Town's centennial anniversary.

**SECTION 2.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Mayor of the Town of Macclesfield.

**SECTION 3.** This resolution is effective upon ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 8<sup>th</sup> day of May,

Beverly E. Perdue
President of the Senate

James B. Black
Speaker of the House of Representatives

2001.