GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

HOUSE BILL 1683 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR STAGGERED TERMS FOR THE SEVEN SEPARATE SEATS ON THE WAYNE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. The Board of Commissioners of Wayne County is currently composed of seven members, six of whom are elected from single-member districts, and one of whom is elected from the county at large. All terms are currently for four years, and the terms of all seven members come up at the same time.

SECTION 2. In 2004, four of the members of the Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall be elected for four-year terms, and three of the members of the Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall be elected for two-year terms. The Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall, prior to January 1, 2003, designate which seats shall be elected in 2004 for four-year terms, and which shall be elected in 2004 for two-year terms. Successors to all seven seats elected in 2004 shall be elected to four-year terms.

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 29th day of July, 2002.

Beverly E. Perdue
President of the Senate

James B. Black
Speaker of the House of Representatives