## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1999**

S 3

## SENATE BILL 233

Transportation Committee Substitute Adopted 3/24/99
House Committee Substitute Favorable 5/13/99

(Public)

## March 4, 1999

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT UNEXPENDED FUNDS DEDICATED TO A CERTAIN DISTRIBUTION REGION PURSUANT TO G.S. 136-17.2A SHALL BE USED FOR PROJECTS IN THAT DISTRIBUTION REGION OR MAY BE USED FOR LOANS TO OTHER DISTRIBUTION REGIONS THAT MUST BE RETURNED WITHIN A SPECIFIED TIME.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

1415

16

17

Section 1. G.S. 136-17.2A(a) reads as rewritten:

- "(a) Funds expended for the Intrastate System projects listed in G.S. 136-179 and both State and federal-aid funds expended under the Transportation Improvement Program, other than funds expended on an urban loop project listed in G.S. 136-180, shall be distributed throughout the State in accordance with this section. For purposes of this distribution, the counties of the State are grouped into seven distribution regions regions, each consisting of two divisions, as follows:
- (1) Distribution Region A consists of the following counties: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank,

1 Perguimans, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson. Division 1 and 2 Division 4. 3 (2) Distribution Region B consists of the following counties: Beaufort, 4 Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New 5 Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, and Sampson. Division 2 and 6 Division 3. 7 (3) Distribution Region C consists of the following counties: Bladen, 8 Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Person, 9 Robeson, Vance, Wake, and Warren. Division 5 and Division 6. 10 (4) Distribution Region D consists of the following counties: Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Orange, Rockingham, 11 12 Rowan, and Stokes. Division 7 and Division 9. Distribution Region E consists of the following counties: Anson, 13 (5) 14 Cabarrus, Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, 15 Randolph, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union. Division 8 and Division 10. 16 17 (6) Distribution Region F consists of the following counties: Alexander, 18 Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin. Division 11 and Division 19 20 <u>1</u>2. 21 **(7)** Distribution Region G consists of the following counties: Buncombe, Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, 22 Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, 23 24 Transylvania, and Yancey. Division 13 and Division 14." Section 2. G.S. 136-17.2A is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 25 Unexpended and unencumbered funds that have been designated pursuant to 26 the allocation formula provisions of this section for projects to be constructed under the 27 Transportation Improvement Program in a particular Division shall remain available, 28 29 from year to year, for construction of projects in that Division and shall be used for 30 projects in that Division. The Secretary may do either of the following: 31 32 The Secretary may advance the construction of other Transportation (1) Improvement Program projects within a Division in order to make the 33 most efficient use of these funds. 34 The Secretary may transfer designated funds from one or more donor 35 <u>(2)</u> Divisions to one or more recipient Divisions with the prior approval of 36 the Board of Transportation. If a transfer or loan of designated funds is 37 38 made, the same amount of funds shall be designated for use in the donor

Section 3. G.S. 136-14.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 136-14.1. Transportation engineering divisions.

Divisions as soon as practicable and at least within five years.

Funds transferred by this statute shall not be considered in the

computation of the distribution formula as defined by G.S. 136-17.2A."

(3)

39

40

41 42

43

1 2 3

4

For purposes	of admini	istering transp	ortation ac	ctivities, the	Department Boa	<u>ırd</u> of
Transportation sh	nall have	authority to	designate	boundaries	of 14 transpor	tation
engineering division	ons for the	proper admin	istration of	its duties."		

Section 4. This act becomes effective July 31, 1999.