SESSION 1999

 \mathbf{H}

HOUSE BILL 499

Short Title: District 30 Split.

Sponsors: Representative Carpenter.

Referred to: Rules, Calendar and Operations of the House.

March 18, 1999

1		A BILL TO I	BE ENTITLED			
2	AN AC	Г ТО DIVIDE DISTRICT COUR	T DISTRICT 30 AND PROSECUTORIAL			
3	DIST	RICT 30 INTO DISTRICTS 30A	AND 30B.			
4	The Gen	eral Assembly of North Carolina er	nacts:			
5		Section 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads	as rewritten:			
6	"(a)	Each district court district shall h	have the numbers of judges as set forth in the			
7	following table:					
8		-				
9						
10	District	Judges	County			
11						
12	1	4	Camden			
13			Chowan			
14			Currituck			
15			Dare			
16			Gates			
17			Pasquotank			
18			Perquimans			
19	2	3 Martin				
20			Beaufort			

1

(Public)

				- 11
1				Tyrrell
2				Hyde
3	2.4	-	D ¹ /2	Washington
4	3A	5	Pitt	
5	3B	5	Craven	D 1'
6				Pamlico
7	4	7	q	Carteret
8	4	7	Sampson	D 1'
9				Duplin
10				Jones
11	~	(Onslow
12	5	6	New Hanover	D 1
13		2	11.1.0	Pender
14	6A	2	Halifax	
15	6B	3	Northampton	Bertie
16 17				Hertford
17 18	7	7	Nash	Heitiola
18 19	/	/	INASII	Edagoomho
19 20				Edgecombe Wilson
20 21	8	6	Wayne	vv 115011
21 22	0	0	Wayne	Greene
22				Lenoir
23 24	9	4	Granville	
24 25	9	4	Oranvine	(part of Vance
23 26				see subsection (b))
20 27				Franklin
28	9A	2	Person	1 I dilkilli
29	<i>)</i> /1	4	1015011	Caswell
30	9B	1	Warren	
31		1		(part of Vance
32				see subsection (b))
33	10	13	Wake	
34	11	7	Harnett	
35		,		Johnston
36				Lee
37	12	9	Cumberland	
38	13	5	Bladen	
39	-			Brunswick
40				Columbus
41	14		6	Durham
42	15A	3	Alamance	
43	15B	4	Orange	
			÷	

				C1 1
1	1.6.4	2		Chatham
2	16A	3	Scotland	YY 1
3	1(D	-		Hoke
4	16B	5	Robeson	
5	17A	2	Rockingham	
6	17B	3	Stokes	C
7	10	11	Cuilford	Surry
8	18		Guilford	
9	19A	3	Cabarrus	
10	19B	6	Montgomery	Maara
11				Moore
12 13	19C	4	Rowan	Randolph
13 14	19C 20	4 7		
14 15	20	/	Stanly	Union
13 16				Anson
10				Richmond
17	21	8	Forsyth	Kichinond
18 19	21	8	Alexander	
19 20		0	Alexander	Davidson
20				Davie
21				Iredell
22	23	4	Alleghany	neden
23	25		Theghany	Ashe
25				Wilkes
26				Yadkin
20	24	4	Avery	1 uukin
28		•		Madison
29				Mitchell
30				Watauga
31				Yancey
32	25	8	Burke	
33				Caldwell
34				Catawba
35	26	15	Mecklenburg	
36	27A	5	Gaston	
37	27B	4	Cleveland	
38				Lincoln
39	28	5	Buncombe	
40	29	6	Henderson	
41				McDowell
42				Polk
43				Rutherford

Transylvania 1 2 3030A42 Cherokee 3 Clay 4 Graham 5 Haywood 6 Jackson 7 Macon 8 Swain. Swain 9 30B Haywood 2 10 Jackson." Section 2. The district court judgeships established for District 30A by Section 11 12 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges from current District 30 who reside in Cherokee and Swain Counties. The term of the judge residing in Cherokee County 13 expires the first Monday in December of 2000. That judge's successor shall be elected in 14 15 the 2000 election from within new District 30A. The term of the judge residing in Swain County expires the first Monday in December of 2002. That judge's successor shall be 16 17 elected in the 2002 election. 18 Section 3. The district court judgeships established for District 30B by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges from current District 30 19 20 who reside in Haywood County. The term of one of the judges residing in Haywood 21 County expires the first Monday in December of 2000. That judge's successor shall be 22 elected in the 2000 election from within new District 30B. The term of the other judge 23 residing in Havwood County expires the first Monday in December of 2002. That judge's 24 successor shall be elected in the 2002 election. 25 Section 4. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten: "(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each 26 27 district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in 28 the following table: 29 30 No. of Full-Time 31 Prosecutorial Asst. District 32 Counties District Attorneys 33 Camden, Chowan, Currituck, 9 1 34 Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, 35 Perquimans Beaufort, Hyde, Martin, 5 2 36 Tyrrell, Washington 37 3A Pitt 9 38 39 3B Carteret, Craven, Pamlico 10 4 Duplin, Jones, Onslow, 14 40 Sampson 41 42 5 New Hanover, Pender 13 6A Halifax 4 43

1	6B	Bertie, Hertford, 4
2	0D	Northampton
3	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson 15
4	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne 11
5	9	Franklin, Granville, 10
6	-	Vance, Warren
7	9A	Person, Caswell 4
8	10	Wake 28
9	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee 14
10	12	Cumberland 17
11	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus 9
12	14	Durham 13
13	15A	Alamance 7
14	15B	Orange, Chatham 7
15	16A	Scotland, Hoke 5
16	16B	Robeson 9
17	17A	Rockingham 5
18	17B	Stokes, Surry 5
19	18	Guilford 26
20	19A	Cabarrus 5
21	19B	Montgomery, Moore, Randolph 11
22	19C	Rowan 5
23	20	Anson, Richmond, 14
24		Stanly, Union
25	21	Forsyth 17
26	22	Alexander, Davidson, Davie, 16
27		Iredell
28	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes, 5
29		Yadkin
30	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell, 4
31		Watauga, Yancey
32	25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba 14
33	26	Mecklenburg 32
34	27A	Gaston 12
35	27B	Cleveland, 8
36		Lincoln
37	28	Buncombe 10
38	29	Henderson, McDowell, Polk, 11
39		Rutherford, Transylvania
40	30 <u>30</u> 4	<u>A</u> Cherokee, Clay, Graham, <u>8-4</u>
41		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,
42		<u>Swain.</u> <u>Swain</u>

1	<u>30B</u> <u>Haywood, Jackson</u> <u>4.</u> "Section 5. The district attorney position
2	established for District 30B by Section 4 of this act shall be filled by the district attorney
3	from current District 30 who resides in Haywood County. The district attorney position
4	established for District 30A by Section 4 of this act shall be elected in the 2000 election.
5	Section 6. The four assistant district attorney positions established for District
6	30A by Section 4 of this act shall be filled by four assistant district attorneys currently
7	serving Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Macon, and Swain Counties in current District 30. The
8	four assistant district attorney positions established for District 30B by Section 4 of this
9	act shall be filled by four assistant district attorneys currently serving Haywood and
10	Jackson Counties in current District 30.
11	Section 7. G.S. 7A-69 reads as rewritten:
12	"§ 7A-69. Investigatorial assistants.
13	The district attorney attorneys in prosecutorial districts 1, 3B, 4, 6B, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12,
14	13, 14, 15A, 15B, 18, 19B, 20, 21, 24, 25, 26, 27A, 27B, 28, 29, and 30 is 30A, and 30B
15	are entitled to one investigatorial assistant to be appointed by the district attorney and to
16	serve at his pleasure.
17	It shall be the duty of the investigatorial assistant to investigate cases preparatory to
18	trial and to perform such other duties as may be assigned by the district attorney. The
19	investigatorial assistant is entitled to reimbursement for his subsistence and travel
20	expenses to the same extent as State employees generally."
21	Section 8. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
22	Department the sum of one hundred ninety-five thousand dollars (\$195,000) for the
23	2000-2001 fiscal year to implement the provisions of this act.
24	Section 9. Sections 1 through 3 of this act become effective the first Monday
25	in December 2000, or the date upon which those sections are approved under section 5 of
26	the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later. Sections 4 through 8 of this act

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later. Sections 4 through 8 of this act
become effective January 1, 2001. The remainder of this act is effective when it becomes
law.