GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1999

HOUSE BILL 333

Short Title: TIP Funding Allocations/Loans.

Sponsors: Representatives Hurley, Kinney, Warner; Allred, Barefoot, Bonner, Buchanan, Church, Cole, Culp, Fox, Goodwin, Hill, McAllister, Melton, Morris, Rogers, Wainwright, and Yongue.

Referred to: Transportation.

March 4, 1999

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT UNEXPENDED FUNDS DEDICATED TO A
3	CERTAIN DISTRIBUTION REGION PURSUANT TO G.S. 136-17.2A SHALL BE
4	USED FOR PROJECTS IN THAT DISTRIBUTION REGION OR MAY BE USED
5	FOR LOANS TO OTHER DISTRIBUTION REGIONS THAT MUST BE
6	RETURNED WITHIN TWO YEARS.
7	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
8	Section 1. G.S. 136-17.2A(a) reads as rewritten:
9	"(a) Funds expended for the Intrastate System projects listed in G.S. 136-179 and
10	both State and federal-aid funds expended under the Transportation Improvement
11	Program, other than funds expended on an urban loop project listed in G.S. 136-180, shall
12	be distributed throughout the State in accordance with this section. For purposes of this
13	distribution, the counties of the State are grouped into seven distribution regions regions,
14	each consisting of two divisions, as follows:
15	(1) Distribution Region A consists of the following counties: Bertie,
16	Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax,
17	Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank,

(Public)

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1		Denovineens Trumell Weshinston Worms and Wilson Division 1 and
1		Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson. Division 1 and Division 4.
2 3	(2)	
3 4	(2)	Distribution Region B consists of the following counties: Beaufort, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New
4 5		Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, and Sampson. Division 2 and
6		Division 3.
7	(3)	Distribution Region C consists of the following counties: Bladen,
8	(\mathbf{J})	Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Person,
9		Robeson, Vance, Wake, and Warren. Division 5 and Division 6.
10	(4)	Distribution Region D consists of the following counties: Alamance,
11	(ד)	Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Orange, Rockingham,
12		Rowan, and Stokes. Division 7 and Division 9.
12	(5)	Distribution Region E consists of the following counties: Anson,
13	(\mathbf{J})	Cabarrus, Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore,
15		Randolph, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union. Division 8 and
16		Division 10.
17	(6)	Distribution Region F consists of the following counties: Alexander,
18	(0)	Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell,
19		Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin. Division 11 and Division
20		12.
21	(7)	Distribution Region G consists of the following counties: Buncombe,
22		Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson,
23		Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain,
24		Transylvania, and Yancey. Division 13 and Division 14."
25	Secti	on 2. G.S. 136-17.2A is amended by adding a new subsection to read:
26		pended and unencumbered funds that have been designated pursuant to
27		ormula provisions of this section for projects to be constructed under the
28		Improvement Program in a particular Division shall remain available,
29		ear, for construction of projects in that Division and shall be used for
30	projects in that	
31		y Administrator may do either of the following:
32	(1)	The Highway Administrator may advance the construction of other
33		Transportation Improvement Program projects within a Division in
34		order to make the most efficient use these funds.
35	<u>(2)</u>	The Highway Administrator may transfer designated funds from one or
36		more donor Divisions to one or more recipient Divisions with the prior
37		approval of the Board of Transportation. If a transfer, or loan, of
38		designated funds is made, the same amount of funds shall be designated
39		for use in the donor Divisions within two years of the transfer, or loan,
40		as a part of the next planning cycle for the Transportation Improvement
41		Program."
42	Secti	on 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.