GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1995

S

SENATE BILL 1137*

Short Title: School Acquisitions.

Sponsors: Senators Hobbs, Conder, Edwards; Lucas, Gulley, Parnell, Speed, Rand, Dannelly, Cochrane, Little, and Davis.

Referred to: Education/Higher Education.

May 14, 1996

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO IMPLEMENT THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SCHOOL CAPITAL
3	CONSTRUCTION STUDY COMMISSION TO ALLOW ALAMANCE,
4	ALEXANDER, ANSON, BEAUFORT, BERTIE, BUNCOMBE, BURKE,
5	CALDWELL, CAMDEN, CASWELL, CATAWBA, CHATHAM, CHEROKEE,
6	CLAY, CLEVELAND, CRAVEN, CUMBERLAND, DARE, DAVIDSON, DAVIE,
7	DURHAM, GASTON, GATES, GRAHAM, GRANVILLE, GUILFORD,
8	HENDERSON, HERTFORD, HOKE, HYDE, JONES, LENOIR, LINCOLN,
9	MARTIN, MCDOWELL, MECKLENBURG, MITCHELL, MONTGOMERY, NEW
10	HANOVER, NORTHAMPTON, ONSLOW, PAMLICO, PERQUIMANS, PERSON,
11	PITT, POLK, ROBESON, ROCKINGHAM, RUTHERFORD, STOKES, SURRY,
12	SWAIN, TRANSYLVANIA, TYRRELL, VANCE, WARREN, WASHINGTON,
13	WAYNE, WILKES, WILSON, YADKIN, AND YANCEY COUNTIES TO
14	ACQUIRE PROPERTY FOR USE BY THEIR COUNTY BOARDS OF
15	EDUCATION.
16	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

17 Section 1. G.S. 153A-158.1(e), as amended by Chapters 17 and 251 of the 18 1995 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

(Public)

1

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1	"(e) Scope This section applies to <u>Alamance, Alexander, Alleghany</u> , <u>Anson</u> ,
2	Ashe, Avery, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus,
3	Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Chatham, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay,
4	Cleveland, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin,
5	Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene,
6	Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson,
7	Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell,
8	Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton,
9	Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk,
10	Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland,
11	Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren,
12	Washington, and Watauga Watauga, Wayne, Wilkes, Wilson, Yadkin, and Yancey
13	Counties."
14	Sec. 2. This act is effective upon ratification.