GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1995 SESSION

CHAPTER 221 HOUSE BILL 696

AN ACT TO DESIGNATE THE CHIEF OF MEDICAL STAFF OF JOHNSTON MEMORIAL HOSPITAL AS AN EX OFFICIO TRUSTEE OF THE COUNTY HOSPITAL AUTHORITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. G.S. 131E-9(b) reads as rewritten:

- "(b) (1) The county board of commissioners of a county may establish by resolution a county hospital authority to plan, establish, construct, maintain, or operate a hospital facility. The authority shall be referred to as '........... County Hospital Authority.'
 - (2) The county hospital authority shall consist of six appointed members and one ex officio member. two ex officio members.
 - (3) The appointed members of the authority shall be appointed by the county board of commissioners. All appointed members shall be residents of the county. Three of the members shall be residents of a city in the county and the remaining three members shall not be residents of the same city or cities in which the other three members appointed under this subdivision reside.
 - (4) For the initial appointments to the county hospital authority, two of the members shall be appointed for a term of three years, two for a term of four years, and two for a term of five years to achieve staggered terms. All subsequent appointments shall be for five-year terms.
 - (5) The One ex officio member of the county hospital authority shall be a member of the county board of commissioners. commissioners and the other ex officio member shall be the hospital chief of staff. The ex officio member's term members' terms on the hospital authority shall be commensurate with his or her term as either a member of the county board of commissioners. commissioners or as the chief of staff."
- Sec. 2. This act applies only to Johnston County and Johnston County Memorial Hospital.
 - Sec. 3. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 12th day of June, 1995.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Harold J. Brubaker Speaker of the House of Representatives