GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1995 SESSION

CHAPTER 219 HOUSE BILL 618

AN ACT TO INCREASE THE THRESHOLD AT WHICH MECKLENBURG COUNTY AND THE MUNICIPALITIES WITHIN THE COUNTY MAY USE FORCE ACCOUNT QUALIFIED LABOR.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. G.S. 143-135 reads as rewritten:

"§ 143-135. Limitation of application of Article.

Except for the provisions of G.S. 143-129 requiring bids for the purchase of apparatus, supplies, materials or equipment, this Article shall not apply to construction or repair work undertaken by the State or by subdivisions of the State of North Carolina (i) when the work is performed by duly elected officers or agents using force account qualified labor on the permanent payroll of the agency concerned and (ii) when the total cost of the project, including without limitation all direct and indirect costs of labor, services, materials, supplies and equipment, does not exceed seventy-five thousand dollars (\$75,000). one hundred twenty-five thousand dollars (\$125,000). Such The force account work shall be subject to the approval of the Director of the Budget in the case of State agencies, of the responsible commission, council, or board in the case of subdivisions of the State. Complete and accurate records of the entire cost of such-the work, including without limitation, all direct and indirect costs of labor, services, materials, supplies and equipment performed and furnished in the prosecution and completion thereof, shall be maintained by such-the agency, commission, council or board for the inspection by the general public. Construction or repair work undertaken pursuant to this section shall not be divided for the purposes of evading the provisions of this Article."

- Sec. 2. This act applies to the County of Mecklenburg and to all municipalities located within the County of Mecklenburg only.
 - Sec. 3. Chapter 563 of the 1973 Session Laws is repealed.
 - Sec. 4. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 12th day of June, 1995.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate Harold J. Brubaker

Speaker of the House of Representatives