## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1995 SESSION

## CHAPTER 3 HOUSE BILL 131

AN ACT TO APPOINT MEMBERS OF THE WHITEVILLE CITY BOARD OF EDUCATION AND TO CHANGE THE TIME FOR THEIR APPOINTMENT.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Section 9 of Chapter 172 of the 1977 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

- "Sec. 9. After the election for elected members in 1978, and at least 10 days before the members are to take office, the General Assembly shall appoint four members for terms of two years. Thereafter, all After the initial appointments are made, and until 1995, all appointed members shall be appointed for terms of two years, and their appointment shall be made by the General Assembly at least 10 days prior to the time for taking office and after the election for elected members. Beginning in 1995, and thereafter, all appointed members shall be appointed for terms of two years, and their appointment shall be made by the General Assembly for terms to begin on the fourth Tuesday in February."
- Sec. 2. Pursuant to Chapter 172 of the Session Laws of 1977, as amended by Section 1 of this act, the following persons are appointed to the Board of Education for the Whiteville City School Administrative Unit, and they shall serve for a term of two years beginning on the fourth Tuesday in February of 1995: David Flowers, L. Calvin Duncan, LaDeen Powell, and Flossie N. Inman.
- Sec. 3. Section 6 of Chapter 172 of the 1977 Session Laws, as amended by Section 1 of Chapter 4 of the 1983 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:
- "Sec. 6. The election for five members of the board shall be held in 1978 and biennially thereafter, at the time of the general elections in North Carolina, and shall be conducted according to the provisions of the General Statutes then governing elections. Members of the board elected in 1982 and thereafter through 1994 shall take office on the first Tuesday in February next after the election, and the terms of office of their immediate predecessors shall end on that date. Members of the Board elected in 1996 and thereafter shall take office on the fourth Tuesday in February next after the election, and the terms of office of their immediate predecessors shall end on that date."

Sec. 4. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 23rd day of February, 1995.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

\_\_\_\_\_

Harold J. Brubaker Speaker of the House of Representatives