## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1995**

H 1

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1055\***

Sponsors: Representative Alexander.

Referred to: Rules, Calendar and Operations of the House.

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

## May 9, 1995

A JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE ONE HUNDREDTH YEAR OF 1 2 STATE LEGISLATURES WOMEN SERVING IN AND THE **MANY** 3 CONTRIBUTIONS WOMEN SERVING OR FORMERLY SERVING, IN VARIOUS CAPACITIES IN THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF 4 5 NORTH CAROLINA HAVE MADE TO OUR LEGISLATIVE PROCESS, AND HONORING NORTH CAROLINA'S WOMEN LEGISLATORS WHO ARE NOW 6 7 DECEASED.

Whereas, the National Foundation for Women Legislators, Inc., which serves as the educational arm of the National Order of Women Legislators, the oldest professional association for women legislators in the country, is coordinating state, regional, and national celebrations to commemorate the 100th year of women serving in state legislatures; and

Whereas, women state legislators were elected to serve before American women had the universal right to vote; and

Whereas, in January 1895, the first three women were sworn in to serve as state legislators; and

Whereas, the members of the General Assembly recognize the 100th year of women in state legislatures; and

Whereas, the General Assembly proudly recognizes the women who are currently serving and the women who have formerly served in the legislature from across the State for their outstanding contributions and accomplishments as America's true "Timeless Pioneers"; and

```
Whereas, the celebration of this centennial will elevate public knowledge and
 1
 2
    awareness of women in State history; and
 3
              Whereas, the women legislators have served diligently, enthusiastically, and
 4
    have devoted most of their lives to their communities, and to our great State; and
 5
              Whereas, their knowledge, expertise, and wise leadership are valuable tools
 6
    to carry North Carolina into the Twenty-First Century; and
 7
              Whereas, the General Assembly wishes to recognize its former women State
 8
    legislators:
 9
              Lillian E. Clement, Buncombe County;
10
              Julia M. Alexander, Mecklenburg County;
11
              Carrie L. McLean, Mecklenburg County;
12
              Gertrude D. McKee, Jackson County;
13
              Lily M. Mebane, Rockingham County;
14
              Effie G. Hutchins, Yancey County;
15
              Lillian M. Cover, Cherokee County;
16
              Sue R. Ferguson, Alexander County;
17
              Jennie G. Crave, Mecklenburg County;
18
              Susan G. Ervin, Mecklenburg County
19
              Grace T. Rodenbough, Stokes County;
20
              Thelma R. Fisher, Transylvania County;
21
              Rachel D. Davis, Lenoir County;
22
              Elinor C. Cook, Macon County;
23
              Tressie P. Fletcher, Alexander County;
24
              Caredwyn T. Phelps, Washington County;
25
              Nancy W. Chase, Wayne County;
              Iona H. Collier, Jones County;
26
27
              Martha W. Evans, Mecklenburg County;
              Mary F. Brumby, Cherokee County;
28
29
              Frances C. Ramsey, Madison County;
              Geraldine R. Nielson, Forsyth County;
30
31
              Louise S. Brennan, Mecklenburg County
32
              Patricia S. Hunt, Orange County;
              Mary H. Odom, Scotland County;
33
              Alfreda J. Webb, Guilford County;
34
35
              Marilyn R. Bissell, Mecklenburg County;
              Jo G. Foster, Mecklenburg County;
36
              Margaret Keesee-Forrester, Guilford County;
37
38
              Carolyn W. Mathis, Mecklenburg County;
39
              Lura S. Tally, Cumberland County;
              Frances A. Tomlin, Cabarrus County;
40
41
              Elizabeth A. Wilkie, Henderson County:
42
              Ruth E. Cook, Wake County;
43
              Pat O. Griffin, Durham County;
44
              Bertha M. Holt, Alamance County;
```

1	Wilda H. Hurst, Onslow County;
2	Edith L. Lutz, Cleveland County;
3	Mary C. Nesbitt, Buncombe County;
4	Janet W. Pickler, Stanly County;
5	Katherine H. Sebo, Guilford County;
6	Frances E. Setzer, Catawba County;
7	Margaret R. Tennile, Forsyth County;
8	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
9	Betty M. Thomas, Cabarrus County; Myrtle E. Wiseman, Avery County;
10	Rachel G. Gray, Guilford County;
11	Helen R. Marvin, Gaston County;
12	Mary P. Seymour, Guilford County;
13	Wilma C. Woodard, Wake County;
14	Anne E. Bagnal, Forsyth County;
15	Marie W. Colton, Buncombe County;
16	Jeanne T. Fenner, Wilson County;
17	Annie B. Kennedy, Forsyth County;
18	Mary N. Pegg, Forsyth County;
19	Dorothy R. Burnley, Guilford County;
20	Margaret B. Hayden, Alleghany County;
21	Wanda H. Hunt, Moore County;
22	Mary L. Jarrell, Guilford County;
23	Margaret A. Stamey, Wake County;
24	Jean B. Allred, Alamance County;
25	Ann Q. Duncan, Forsyth County;
26	Doris R. Huffman, Catawba County;
27	Lois S. Walker, Iredell County;
28	Betty H. Wiser, Wake County;
29	Judy F. Hunt, Watauga County;
30	Sharon A. Thompson, Durham County;
31	Doris L. Lail, Lincoln County;
32	Peggy A. Wilson, Rockingham County;
33	Karen E. Gottovi, New Hanover County;
34	Margaret M. Jeffus, Guilford County;
35	Linda H. Gunter, Wake County;
36	Erin J. Kuczmarski, Wake County;
37	Elaine F. Marshall, Harnett County;
38	Jane H. Mosley, Wake County; and
39	Whereas, the General Assembly would like to congratulate the following
40	current women State legislators:
41	Alma S. Adams, Guilford County;
42	Martha B. Alexander, Mecklenburg County;
43	Anne C. Barnes, Orange County;
44	Cherie K. Berry, Catawba County;
	onone in bong, caminou county,

1	Joanne W. Bowie, Guilford County;
2	Flossie Boyd-McIntyre, Guilford County;
3	Debbie A. Clary, Cleveland County;
4	Betsy L. Cochrane, Rowan County;
5	Frances M. Cummings, Robeson County;
6	Beverly M. Earle, Mecklenburg County;
7	Ruth M. Easterling, Mecklenburg County;
8	Theresa H. Esposito, Forsyth County;
9	Virginia A. Foxx, Avery County;
10	Charlotte A. Gardner, Rowan County;
11	Julia C. Howard, Davie County;
12	Tina S. Little, Moore County;
13	Jeanne H. Lucas, Durham County;
14	Mary E. McAllister, Cumberland County;
15	Beverly M. Perdue, Craven County;
16	Jean R. Preston, Carteret County;
17	Arlene C. Pulley, Wake County;
18	Carolyn B. Russell, Lenoir County;
19	Joanne P. Sharpe, Guilford County;
20	Wilma M. Sherrill, Buncombe County;
21	Fern H. Shubert, Union County;
22	Cynthia B. Watson, Duplin County;
23	Constance K. Wilson, Mecklenburg County;
24	Leslie J. Winner, Mecklenburg County; and
25	Whereas, the General Assembly extends its sincerest appreciation to all of
26	these women who have unselfishly served the "Tarheel"State;
27	Now, therefore, be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:
28	Section 1. The General Assembly recognizes the 100th year celebration of
29	women serving in state legislatures and the many contributions women serving, or
30	formerly serving, in various capacities in the General Assembly.
31	Sec. 2. The General Assembly wishes to honor the memory of the women
32	who served in the General Assembly who are now deceased and expresses the gratitude
33	and appreciation of this State and its citizens for their devoted service to North Carolina.
34	Sec. 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution to the
35	women named above who are currently serving in the General Assembly and to the
36	National Foundation for Women Legislators, Inc.
37	Sec. 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.