GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1989 SESSION

CHAPTER 139 SENATE BILL 697

AN ACT TO CHANGE THE NAME OF THE WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA ARBORETUM TO THE NORTH CAROLINA ARBORETUM.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. G.S. 116-240 reads as rewritten:

"§ 116-240. Establishment of Arboretum.

The Western–North Carolina Arboretum is established on land being provided by the United States Forest Service from property presently designated as the Bent Creek Experimental Forest.

The United States Forest Service has committed itself to continuing its work of the land provided to the Arboretum as many of its studies will be compatible with the work of the Arboretum."

Sec. 2. G.S. 120-123(46) reads as rewritten:

"(46) The Board of Directors of the Western–North Carolina Arboretum, as established in G.S. 116-240."

Sec. 3. Section 10 of Chapter 1029, Session Laws of 1985 reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 10. Deana Anderson Goldstein of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western-North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire on June 30, 1990. William Frank Forsyth of Cherokee County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western-North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire on June 30, 1988."

Sec. 4. Section 5 of Chapter 1060, Session Laws of 1987 reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 5. William Frank Forsyth of Cherokee County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western-North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire on June 30, 1992."

Sec. 5. Section 3 of Chapter 1068, Session Laws of 1987, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3. Mr. David Felmet, Sr., of Haywood County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western-North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire on June 30, 1992. Mr. Morris L. McGough of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western-North Carolina Arboretum to fill the unexpired term of Dr. H. F. Robinson. His term will expire on June 30, 1990."

Sec. 6. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 25th day of May, 1989.