## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1989**

S

SENATE BILL 643 Second Edition Engrossed 5/1/89

Short Title: Cabarrus Commissioners Election.

(Local)

2

Sponsors: Senator Johnson of Cabarrus.

Referred to: Local Government and Regional Affairs.

## March 27, 1989

1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO	EXPAND THE SIZE OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF
3	CABARR	US COUNTY FROM FIVE TO SEVEN MEMBERS, AND TO
4	PROVIDE	THAT FIVE OF THE MEMBERS MUST LIVE IN CERTAIN
5	DISTRICT	S, BUT ALL MEMBERS ARE TO BE ELECTED AT-LARGE.
6	The General A	ssembly of North Carolina enacts:
7	Sec	tion 1. Section 1 of Chapter 205, Session Laws of 1977, reads as
8	rewritten:	
9	"Sec. 1. <u>(a</u> )	The Board of County Commissioners of Cabarrus County shall
10	consist of five	-seven members who shall serve for staggered terms of four years elected as
11	herein provide	
12		with the regular primary and general election for county officers to be held
13		e shall be nominated and elected five commissioners who shall be
14		elected by the voters of the entire county. In the 1978 general election,
15	the three candidates receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected for terms of	
16	four years, and the two candidates receiving the next highest number of votes shall be	
17		ms of two years.
18	<u>(b)</u> <u>Cab</u>	arrus County is divided into five districts, as follows:
19	<u>(1)</u>	District 1 shall consist of Township 1-Harrisburg, Township 2-Poplar
20		Tent, and Township 3-Odell;
21	<u>(2)</u>	District 2 shall consist of Township 4-Kannapolis east of the Southern
22		Railroad main line, Township 5-New Gilead, and Township 6-
23		Rimerton;

## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1	(3) District 3 shall consist of Township 7-Gold Hill, Township 8-Mt.	
2	Pleasant, Township 9-Georgeville, Township 10-Midland, and	
3	Township 11-Central Cabarrus; and	
4	(4) District 4 shall consist of Township 12-Concord.	
5	(5) District 5 shall consist of Township 4-Kannapolis west of the Southern	
6	Railroad main line.	
7	As used in this subsection, township boundaries are those from the 1980 decennial	
8 9	<u>federal census.</u> (c) One seat is apportioned to each district. Two seats are apportioned to the	
9 10	(c) <u>One seat is apportioned to each district</u> . Two seats are apportioned to the <u>county at-large</u> .	
10	(d) <u>Members shall reside in and represent the districts according to the</u>	
12	apportionment plan adopted by this section, but the qualified voters of the entire county	
12	shall elect all the members of the board.	
14	(e) In 1990 and quadrennially thereafter, one member shall be elected for each of	
15	Districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 for four-year terms. In 1992 and quadrennially thereafter, two	
16	members shall be elected from the county at-large.	
17		
18	terms of four years."	
19	Sec. 2. This act does not affect the terms of office of seats elected in 1986 or	
20	1988. Vacancies in such seats before the expiration of the term shall continue to be	
21	filled as was provided prior to the enactment of Section 1 of this act. The effective date	
22	of the increase in the size of the Board of Commissioners of Cabarrus County is the first	
23	Monday in December, 1990.	
24	Sec. 3. (a) This act shall become effective only if approved by the qualified	
25	voters of Cabarrus County in a special election to be held on November 7, 1989. The	
26	election shall be conducted by the Cabarrus County Board of Elections in accordance	
27	with general law.	
28	(b)The question in the ballot shall be:	
29	"[] FOR expansion of Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners from	
30	five to seven members, with two members elected at-large, and five	
31	members to reside in and represent districts, but the voters of the entire	
32	county shall elect all seven members of the Board.	
33	[] AGAINST expansion of Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners	
34	from five to seven members, with two members elected at-large, and	
35	five members to reside in and represent districts, but the voters of the	
36	entire county shall elect all seven members of the Board."	
37	(c) If a majority of the qualified voters voting in the election vote for the	
38	question, Sections 1 and 2 of this act become effective. If a majority of the qualified	
39 40	voters voting in the election do not vote for the question, Sections 1 and 2 of this act do	
40	not become effective.	
41	Sec. 4. This act is effective upon ratification.	

1989