GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1989

S 1 SENATE BILL 643 Short Title: Cabarrus Commissioners Election. (Local) Sponsors: Senator Johnson of Cabarrus. Referred to: Local Government and Regional Affairs. March 27, 1989 1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT TO EXPAND THE SIZE OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF 3 CABARRUS COUNTY FROM FIVE TO SEVEN MEMBERS, AND TO 4 PROVIDE THAT FIVE OF THE MEMBERS MUST LIVE IN CERTAIN DISTRICTS, BUT ALL MEMBERS ARE TO BE ELECTED AT-LARGE. 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 6 7 Section 1. Section 1 of Chapter 205, Session Laws of 1977, reads as rewritten: 8 The Board of County Commissioners of Cabarrus County shall 9 "Sec. 1. (a) 10 consist of five-seven members who shall serve for staggered terms of four years elected as herein provided. 11 12 Beginning with the regular primary and general election for county officers to be held in 1978, there shall be nominated and elected five commissioners who shall be 13 nominated and elected by the voters of the entire county. In the 1978 general election, 14 the three candidates receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected for terms of 15 four years, and the two candidates receiving the next highest number of votes shall be 16 elected for terms of two years. 17 18 Cabarrus County is divided into four districts, as follows: District 1 shall consist of Township 1-Harrisburg, Township 2-Poplar 19 (1) Tent, and Township 3-Odell; 20 21 District 2 shall consist of Township 4-Kannapolis east of the Southern (2) Railroad main line, Township 5-New Gilead, and Township 6-22

23

Rimerton;

- District 3 shall consist of Township 7-Gold Hill, Township 8-Mt. (3) 1 2 Pleasant, Township 9-Georgeville, Township 10-Midland, and 3 Township 11-Central Cabarrus; and 4
 - District 4 shall consist of Township 12-Concord. <u>(4)</u>
 - District 5 shall consist of Township 4-Kannapolis west of the Southern (5) Railroad main line.

As used in this subsection, township boundaries are those from the 1980 decennial federal census.

- (c) One seat is apportioned to each district. Two seats are apportioned to the county at-large.
- Members shall reside in and represent the districts according to the apportionment plan adopted by this section, but the qualified voters of the entire county shall elect all the members of the board.
- In 1990 and quadrennially thereafter, one member shall be elected for each of Districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 for four-year terms. In 1992 and quadrennially thereafter, two members shall be elected from the county at-large.

Thereafter, as the terms of the members expire, their successors shall be elected for terms of four years."

- Sec. 2. This act does not affect the terms of office of seats elected in 1986 or 1988. Vacancies in such seats before the expiration of the term shall continue to be filled as was provided prior to the enactment of Section 1 of this act. The effective date of the increase in the size of the Board of Commissioners of Cabarrus County is the first Monday in December, 1990.
- Sec. 3. (a) This act shall become effective only if approved by the qualified voters of Cabarrus County in a special election to be held on November 7, 1989. The election shall be conducted by the Cabarrus County Board of Elections in accordance with general law.
 - (b) The question in the ballot shall be:
 - FOR expansion of Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners from five to seven members, with two members elected at-large, and five members to reside in and represent districts, but the voters of the entire county shall elect all seven members of the Board.
 - AGAINST expansion of Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners [] from five to seven members, with two members elected at-large, and five members to reside in and represent districts, but the voters of the entire county shall elect all seven members of the Board."
- (c) If a majority of the qualified voters voting in the election vote for the question. Sections 1 and 2 of this act become effective. If a majority of the qualified voters voting in the election do not vote for the question, Sections 1 and 2 of this act do not become effective.
 - Sec. 4. This act is effective upon ratification.

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13 14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

39

40 41