## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1989**

S

SENATE BILL 452 Judiciary II Committee Substitute Adopted 4/20/89

Short Title: Add Superior Ct. Judge Dist. 11 & 13.

(Public)

2

Sponsors:

Referred to:

## March 15, 1989

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED					
2	AN ACT TO ADD AN ADDITIONAL RESIDENT SUPERIOR COURT JUDGE IN					
3	SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT ELEVEN AND THIRTEEN.					
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:					
5	Section 1. G.S. 7A-41(a) reads as rewritten:					
6	"§ 7A-41. Superior court divisions and districts; judges.					
7	(a) The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior					
8	court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of					
9	regular resident superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of					
10	less than a whole county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section:					
11		Superior				
12	Judicial	Court		No. of Resident		
13	Division	District	Counties	Judges		
14						
15	First	1	Camden, Chowan,	2		
16			Currituck,			
17			Dare, Gates,			
18			Pasquotank,			
19			Perquimans			
20		2	Beaufort, Hyde,	1		
21			Martin,			

1			Tyrrell, Washington	
2		3A	Pitt	1
3		3B	Carteret, Craven,	1
4		515	Pamlico	Ĩ
5		4A	Duplin, Jones,	1
6			Sampson	-
7		4B	Onslow	1
8		5	New Hanover,	2
9			Pender	
10		6A	Halifax	1
11		6B	Bertie, Hertford,	1
12			Northampton	
13		7A	Nash	1
14		7B	(part of Wilson,	1
15			part of Edgecombe,	
16			see subsection (b))	
17		7C	(part of Wilson,	1
18			part of Edgecombe,	
19			see subsection (b))	
20		8A	Lenoir and Greene	1
21		8B	Wayne	1
22	Second	9	Franklin, Granville,	2
23			Person,	
24			Vance, Warren	
25		10A	(part of Wake,	1
26			see subsection (b))	
27		10B	(part of Wake,	2
28		100	see subsection (b))	
29		10C	(part of Wake,	1
30		100	see subsection (b))	1
31		10D	(part of Wake,	1
32		11	see subsection (b))	1.0
33		11	Harnett, Johnston,	<u>+-2</u>
34		10 4	Lee	1
35		12A	(part of Cumberland,	1
36		12D	see subsection (b))	1
37 38		12B	(part of Cumberland,	1
38 39		12C	see subsection (b))	2
39 40		120	(part of Cumberland,	Z
40 41		13	see subsection (b)) Bladen, Brunswick,	<u>+-2</u>
41 42		13	Columbus	<u>+-7</u>
42		14A	(part of Durham,	1
44		1 77 1	see subsection (b))	T
17				

1989	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA		
	14B	(part of Durham,	3
		see subsection (b))	
	15A	Alamance	1
	15B	Orange, Chatham	1
	16A	Scotland, Hoke	1
	16B	Robeson	2
Third	10D 17A	Caswell, Rockingham	1
1 mm Q	17R	Stokes, Surry	1
	17D 18A	(part of Guilford,	1
	10/4	see subsection (b))	1
	18B		1
	10D	(part of Guilford,	1
	190	see subsection (b))	1
	18C	(part of Guilford,	1
	10D	see subsection (b))	1
	18D	(part of Guilford,	1
	105	see subsection (b))	
	18E	(part of Guilford,	1
		see subsection (b))	
	19A	Cabarrus	1
	19B	Montgomery,	1
		Randolph	
	19C	Rowan	1
	20A	Anson, Moore,	1
		Richmond	
	20B	Stanly, Union	1
	21A	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	
	21B	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	
	21C	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	
	21D	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	-
	22	Alexander, Davidson,	2
		Davie, Iredell	-
	23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1
	25	Wilkes, Yadkin	1
Fourth	24	Avery, Madison,	1
Tourui	27	Mitchell,	1
		,	
	25 4	Watauga, Yancey	1
	25A 25D	Burke, Caldwell	1
	25B	Catawba	1
	26A	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
		see subsection (b))	

	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA					
1	26B	(part of Mecklenburg,	2			
2	200	see subsection (b))	-			
3	26C	(part of Mecklenburg,	2			
4	200	see subsection (b))	_			
5	27A	Gaston	2			
6	27B	Cleveland, Lincoln	1			
7	28	Buncombe	2			
8	29	Henderson,	1			
9		McDowell, Polk,				
10		Rutherford,				
11		Transylvania				
12	30A	Cherokee, Clay,	1			
13		Graham, Macon,				
14		Swain				
15	30B	Haywood, Jackson	1"			
16	Sec. 2. G.S. 7A-41(d)(19) reads as rewritten:					
17	"(19) In the eleventh superior court district, Wiley F. Bowen serves a term expiring					
18	December 31, 1990. In the eleventh superior court district, the second judge shall be					
19	appointed by the Governor to serve a term beginning January 1, 1990 and shall serve					
20	until December 31, 1990. A successor shall be elected in the 1990 election."					
21	Sec. 3. G.S. 7A-41(d)(23) reads as rewritten:					
22	"(23) In the thirteenth superior court district, Giles R. Clark serves a term expiring					
23	December 31, 1994. In the thirteenth superior court district, the second judge shall be					
24	elected in 1990 to serve an initial four-year term expiring December 31, 1994.					
25	Thereafter the term shall be for eight years."					
26	Sec. 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Administrative					
27	Office of the Courts the sum of sixty-two thousand eight hundred five dollars (\$62,805)					
28	for the 1989-90 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred sixty-eight thousand five dollars					
29	(\$68,005) for the 1990-91 fiscal year to implement the provisions of this act.					
30	Sec. 5. Section 1 of this act shall become effective January 1, 1990. Sections					
31	2 and 3 of this act shall become effective upon ratification. Section 4 shall become					
32	effective July 1, 1989.					

32 effective July 1, 1989.