## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1989**

S 1

#### SENATE BILL 452

Short Title: Add Superior Ct. Judge Dist. 13.	(Public)
Sponsors: Senator Soles.	-
Referred to: Judiciary II.	<del>-</del>

# March 15, 1989

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2 AN ACT TO ADD AN ADDITIONAL RESIDENT SUPERIOR COURT JUDGE IN SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT THIRTEEN.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Superior

4

5

6

7

8

9

10 11 Section 1. G.S. 7A-41(a) reads as rewritten:

# "§ 7A-41. Superior court divisions and districts; judges.

(a) The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of regular resident superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of less than a whole county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section:

1 1		Superior		
12	Judicial	Court		No. of Resident
13	Division	District	Counties	Judges
14				
15	First	1	Camden, Chowan,	2
16			Currituck,	
17			Dare, Gates,	
18			Pasquotank,	
19			Perquimans	
20		2	Beaufort, Hyde,	1
21			Martin,	
22			Tyrrell, Washington	
23		3A	Pitt	1
24		3B	Carteret, Craven,	1

1			Pamlico	
2		4A	Duplin, Jones,	1
3			Sampson	
4		4B	Onslow	1
5		5	New Hanover,	2
6			Pender	
7		6A	Halifax	1
8		6B	Bertie, Hertford,	1
9			Northampton	
10		7A	Nash	1
11		7B	(part of Wilson,	1
12			part of Edgecombe,	
13			see subsection (b))	
14		7C	(part of Wilson,	1
15			part of Edgecombe,	
16			see subsection (b))	
17		8A	Lenoir and Greene	1
18		8B	Wayne	1
19	Second	9	Franklin, Granville,	2
20			Person,	
21			Vance, Warren	
22		10A	(part of Wake,	1
23			see subsection (b))	
24		10B	(part of Wake,	2
25			see subsection (b))	
26		10C	(part of Wake,	1
27			see subsection (b))	
28		10D	(part of Wake,	1
29			see subsection (b))	
30		11	Harnett, Johnston,	1
31			Lee	
32		12A	(part of Cumberland,	1
33			see subsection (b))	
34		12B	(part of Cumberland,	1
35			see subsection (b))	
36		12C	(part of Cumberland,	2
37			see subsection (b))	_
38		13	Bladen, Brunswick,	<u>1-2</u>
39			Columbus	
40		14A	(part of Durham,	1
41		1.45	see subsection (b))	2
42		14B	(part of Durham,	3
43		4	see subsection (b))	_
44		15A	Alamance	1

	1989 GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROL			Y OF NORTH CAROLINA
1		15B	Orange, Chatham	1
2		16A	Scotland, Hoke	1
3		16B	Robeson	2
4	Third	17A	Caswell, Rockingham	1
5	Tilliu	17B	Stokes, Surry	1
6		17B 18A	(part of Guilford,	1
7		1014	·	1
8		18B	see subsection (b))	1
		10D	(part of Guilford,	1
9		100	see subsection (b))	1
10		18C	(part of Guilford,	1
11		100	see subsection (b))	1
12		18D	(part of Guilford,	1
13		105	see subsection (b))	
14		18E	(part of Guilford,	1
15			see subsection (b))	
16		19A	Cabarrus	1
17		19B	Montgomery,	1
18			Randolph	
19		19C	Rowan	1
20		20A	Anson, Moore,	1
21			Richmond	
22		20B	Stanly, Union	1
23		21A	(part of Forsyth,	1
24			see subsection (b))	
25		21B	(part of Forsyth,	1
26			see subsection (b))	
27		21C	(part of Forsyth,	1
28			see subsection (b))	
29		21D	(part of Forsyth,	1
30		_12	see subsection (b))	-
31		22	Alexander, Davidson,	2
32		22	Davie, Iredell	2
33		23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1
34		23	Wilkes, Yadkin	1
35	Fourth	24	Avery, Madison,	1
	rourui	∠ <del>4</del>		1
36			Mitchell,	
37		25.4	Watauga, Yancey	1
38		25A	Burke, Caldwell	1
39		25B	Catawba	1
40		26A	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
41			see subsection (b))	
42		26B	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
43			see subsection (b))	
44		26C	(part of Mecklenburg,	2

1	S	see subsection (b))	
2	27A (	Gaston 2	
3	27B (	Cleveland, Lincoln 1	
4	28 H	Buncombe 2	
5	29 I	Henderson, 1	
6	N	McDowell, Polk,	
7	I	Rutherford,	
8		Γransylvania	
9	30A (	Cherokee, Clay, 1	
10		Graham, Macon,	
11	S	Swain	
12	30B I	Haywood, Jackson 1'	"
13	Sec. 2. G.S. 7A-41(c	d)(23) reads as rewritten:	

"(23) In the thirteenth superior court district, Giles R. Clark serves a term expiring December 31, 1994. <u>In the thirteenth superior court district, a judge shall be elected in 1990 to serve an eight-year term expiring December 31, 1998.</u>"

Sec. 3. Section 1 of this act shall become effective January 1, 1991. Section 2 of this act is effective upon ratification.

14

15

16

17

18