## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1989**

H 1

## **HOUSE BILL 2080**

Short Title: Williamston Election Method.	(Local)
Sponsors: Representative Rogers.	
Referred to: Judiciary.	

## May 24, 1990

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT CHANGING THE METHOD OF ELECTING THE TOWN OF WILLIAMSTON BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS TO IMPROVE THE OPPORTUNITY FOR MINORITY VOTERS TO ELECT CANDIDATES OF THEIR CHOICE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. The Williamston Board of Commissioners shall consist of five members elected in nonpartisan, plurality elections for terms of two years. Elections shall be held at the time provided by State law and, except as otherwise provided in this act, shall be conducted according to general State law.

- Sec. 2. Beginning with the 1991 election, one commissioner shall be elected from each of the three districts described in Section 4. Only the voters residing in a district may vote on the commissioner for that district, and only persons residing in the district shall be eligible to run for that office.
- Sec. 3. Also beginning with the 1991 election, two commissioners shall be elected by all the voters of the town. All candidates for those two seats shall be listed together on a single ballot, but each voter shall be limited to voting for one candidate only. The two candidates receiving the most votes shall be elected.
  - Sec. 4. The election districts are as follows:

<u>District 1</u> – All of the town south of the following line running west to east from the western boundary of the town, including the area annexed in 1990: East and south along the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad tracks to U.S. Highway 17 bypass, then east along the bypass to the Roanoke River.

<u>District 2</u> – The central portion of town enclosed within the following line running clockwise from the intersection of Highway 125 with the town limits on the north side of town: South on Highway 125 (Haughton Street) to Williams Street, east on Williams to Park Street, south on Park to U.S. Highway 17 bypass, west on the bypass to the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad tracks, north and west along the railroad tracks to the town limits, east along the town limits to the starting point.

<u>District 3</u> – The remaining portion of town, which consists of all the town enclosed within the following line running counterclockwise from the intersection of Highway 125 with the town limits on the north side of town: South on Highway 125 (Haughton Street) to Williams Street, east on Williams to Park Street, south on Park to U.S. Highway 17 bypass, east on the bypass to the Roanoke River, north and west from that point along the town limits to the starting point.

- Sec. 5. Following each federal census and each annexation, the Board of Commissioners may, by adoption of a resolution, alter the district boundaries if necessary to comply with the requirements of equal representation. Any such change shall take effect with the next town election.
- Sec. 6. Vacancies on the Board shall be filled as provided by general State law. If a vacancy occurs in one of the three district commissioner seats, the person appointed to fill the vacancy must reside in the district for which the vacancy occurred.
- Sec. 7. The Mayor shall continue to be elected as a separate office by all the voters of the town, and shall continue to serve a term of two years.
  - Sec. 8. Chapter 90 of the Session Laws of 1947 is repealed.
- Sec. 9. This act is effective upon ratification.